Get your tickets to the World Cup of tennis this September from just £10
Skip to content


BNP Paribas Open Indian Wells 2024: Preview, draws, how to watch, player list & UK TV times


Tennis is returning to the desert, with the first combined WTA and ATP 1000 event of the year just around the corner at the BNP Paribas Open Indian Wells.

With two weeks of show-stopping tennis entertainment set to hit our screens in a matter of days, find out everything you need to know about the dates, draws, player list and how to watch the BNP Paribas Open Indian Wells.

When is Indian Wells 2024?

The 2024 BNP Paribas Open Indian Wells will kick off with the qualifying stages on Sunday 3 March with the main draw action commencing on Wednesday 6 March.

The tournament will come to a close on Sunday 17 March when both the men’s and women’s singles finals will take place.

Day session matches are set to start at 19:00 UK time (11:00 local time), with night sessions getting underway at 02:00 (18:00 local time).

Where is the 2024 Indian Wells being held?

Once again, the tournament will return to Indian Wells Tennis Garden. Having played host to the tournament every year since its opening in 1974, the Indian Wells Tennis Garden is located near Palm Springs, California, in the Coachella Valley.

Alongside its 16,100-capacity centre court – the second largest tennis-specific stadium in the world – the complex also boasts 29 hard-courts, which provides the perfect tennis experience for spectators visiting from near and far.

Who are the reigning Indian Wells reigning champions?

  • Men’s singles – Carlos Alcaraz (ESP)
  • Women’s singles – Elena Rybakina (KAZ)
  • Men’s doubles – Rohan Bopanna (IND) & Matthew Ebden (AUS)
  • Women’s doubles – Barbora Krejcikova (CZE) & Katerina Siniakova (CZE)

When is the Indian Wells draw?

More information regarding the BNP Paribas Open Indian Wells draw will be available below:

Women’s draw

Men’s draw

Which British tennis players will be competing at Indian Wells 2024?



Flying the flag for the British women, Katie Boulter has received direct entry into the main draw for the first time in her career. This comes off the back of a standout year for the British No.1 in 2023, who has continued to reach new heights already this year. Boulter has already showed promising signs on the hard courts this year, having reached the second round at the Australian Open and the round of 16 at the Linz Open and will be hoping she can make a strong statement in the desert.

Emma Raducanu has been awarded a wild card into the main draw, where last season she reached the fourth round.

Boulter and Raducanu could also be joined by Harriet Dart who is heading to California to compete in the qualifying rounds.

Meanwhile, the men's draw is headlined by former Indian Wells champion Cam Norrie. Norrie has made a fast start to his 2024 campaign, with the British No.1 impressing down under at the Australian Open where he knocked out Casper Ruud to reach the fourth round. 

He'll be joined by Dan Evans and Andy Murray whose 2023 Indian Wells journeys came to an end at the hands of their compatriot Jack Draper, who completes the British singles line-up. Draper had a standout tournament last year, recording back-to-back wins against Evans and Murray en route to reaching the round of 16 where he was forced to withdraw to eventual champion Carlos Alcaraz due to injury.


The rising youngster is making steady headway towards a career-high ranking and having already reached one final so far this year at the ATP 250 event in Brisbane, Draper will certainly be one to watch across the coming weeks.

Liam Broady will also bid for a spot in the main draw as he heads to the qualifying stages.


2023 men's doubles runner-up Neal Skupski will return to Indian Wells, alongside his new partner Santiago Gonzalez. The pair joined forces at the beginning of the year and recently made their first final together at the Delray Beach Open where they missed out to Britain's Julian Cash and Robert Galloway.

They'll be joined by three-time US Open champions Joe Salisbury and Rajeev Ram, Jamie Murray and Michael Venus, while Lloyd Glasspool is the final confirmed Brit so far.

Past British performances at Indian Wells

Cam Norrie Indian Wells.jpg

Despite being a part of the ATP and WTA tour calendars since 1974, the tournament has only seen one British tennis player be crowned champion of the event which is considered the "fifth Grand Slam".

Norrie's run to a maiden ATP masters 1000 title back in 2021 saw him defeat the likes of Tommy Paul, Diego Schwartzman and Grigor Dimitrov en route to the final. In the championship match, the Brit came back from a set down to defeat Nikoloz Basilashvili 3-6, 6-4, 6-1 to become the first Brit to win the presitgeous title.

Other British stars have come close to the crown, with Murray (2009), Tim Henman (2002, 2004) and Greg Rusedski (1998) all finishing runners-up in the Californian desert during their careers.

Indian Wells prize money

The Indial Wells prize money for 2024 will total $19 million. Find the prize money break down for the singles draw below:

Round Prize Money
Winner $1,100,000
Runner-up $585,000
Semi-finalist $325,000
Quarter-finalist $185,000
Last 16 $101,000
Last 32 $59,100
Last 64 $42,000
Last 96 $7,800

How to watch the Indian Wells 2024?

All coverage of the BNP Paribas Open Indian Wells will be available to watch exclusively on Sky Sports Tennis and Now TV.

Cookies on LTA site

We use cookies on our site to ACE your experience, improve the quality of our site and show you content we think you’ll be interested in. Let us know if you agree to cookies or if you’d prefer to manage your own settings.