Get your tickets to the World Cup of tennis this September from just £10
Skip to content

Wheelchair tennis classification


Classification is open to any person who has an eligible physical impairment and wants to compete in wheelchair tennis. It's essential if you wish to compete in International Tennis Federation (ITF) events.

Classification isn't required if you are competing in ITF junior level events and in our LTA Regional Series events.


Find out more about the ITF Wheelchair Tennis Classification rules

Classifiable impairment groups

Classification determines who is eligible to compete at an international level and ensure fair competition across both Open and Quad Division. To compete in wheelchair tennis, you must have an eligible health condition that falls within one of seven impairment groups:

Ataxia: Uncoordinated movements caused by damage to the central nervous system (e.g., Cerebral Palsy, Traumatic Brain Injury, Multiple Sclerosis).

Athetosis: Having continual slow involuntary movements (e.g., Cerebral Palsy).

Impaired muscle power: A health condition that either reduces or eliminates the ability to voluntarily contract muscles to move or generate force (e.g., Spinal Cord Injury, Spina Bifida).

Impaired passive range of movement: A restriction or a lack of passive movement in one or more joints (e.g., Perthes, Arthrogryposis).

Limb deficiency: A total or partial absence of bones or joints because of trauma, illness, or congenital limb deficiency (e.g., amputation).

Hypertonia: An increase in muscle tension and a reduced ability of a muscle to stretch (e.g., Cerebral Palsy).

Leg length difference: A difference in the length of their legs (e.g., Dysmelia, disturbance of limb growth).

There will be multiple eligible physical impairments within each classifiable impairment group.


Divisions of wheelchair tennis

Once classified into wheelchair tennis, you're then grouped into one of two divisions: Open or Quad. These divisions guarantee fair competition by minimising the impact which eligible impairments have on the outcome of competition and ensure that the best players can be successful. You can find out more about the wheelchair tennis divisions below:

Classification process

The ITF governs classification and delivers classification days throughout a calendar year for any new players looking to compete internationally.

You must first compete the ITF's medical registration form and on completion submit this to wchclassification@itftennis.com. You will need your National Association (LTA) to approve, so the medical registration form must also be submitted to wheelchairtennis.classification@lta.org.uk.

Find a competition

Ready to get stuck into competing? Use the link below to find a competition near you:

Find a competition

Wheelchair Performance Pathway

Learn more about the support available on the LTA Wheelchair Performance Pathway to help players to take the next steps in their tennis careers.

Disability tennis competition calendar

We run competitions for disability tennis players across Great Britain, all year around. Check out our competitions calendars or search for a tournament.

Cookies on LTA site

We use cookies on our site to ACE your experience, improve the quality of our site and show you content we think you’ll be interested in. Let us know if you agree to cookies or if you’d prefer to manage your own settings.