Skip to content

Davis Cup captain Leon Smith presenting the LTA Tennis Awards

Nominees revealed for LTA Tennis Awards 2023


On 4 July we will be announcing the winners of the 2023 LTA Tennis Awards and we can now share the details of our amazing nominees.

The awards champion the people and venues throughout our sport that go above and beyond to make sure the game is relevant, accessible, welcoming and enjoyable.

The names were selected from more than 2,200 nominations across 26 different categories and they have been acknowledged for their outstanding contribution to tennis in 2022.

To help us decide on the national winners, we invited professionals from across sport to sit on the judging panels. This included colleagues, former players, officials, representatives from charities and politicians.

Organisations included: The Association for Physical Education, Youth Sport Trust, Sport for Development Coalition, Sports Aid, Bright Ideas for Tennis Charity, Activity Alliance, Sport England, StreetGames, LEAP Sports Scotland, Women in Sport, Encore Tennis, AELTC, LTA Tennis Foundation and others.

We were also helped by experts including judges such as US Open Finalist and former world No. 4 Greg Rusedski, Paralympian Louise Hunt Skelley, sports broadcaster Anne-Marie Batson and politicians Helen Grant MP and Toby Perkins MP.


The incredible contributions all the nominees have made to the sport and to their communities has been tremendously inspiring.

Alex Beaumont, Volunteering Manager at the LTA said: “I’d like to thank the judges and the members from the various organisations that took part in the judging panels.

“It’s been empowering to collaborate on our 2023 awards with groups that go the length and breadth of the sport. We are so pleased that so many people are as passionate as we are in highlighting the individuals and venues that make are sport so fun, inclusive and inspirational across the country.’’

Sandi Procter, overseeing the awards in her first year as President of the LTA, said: “I would like to congratulate all the individuals and venues who have been shortlisted. It is a testament to the hard work and dedication they put in week in, week out.

“It will be fantastic to welcome them all to the awards’ presentation, here at our National Tennis Centre in July, where they will have the chance to meet others who are also doing tremendous work in their communities.

“In many of the categories, it was extremely hard for the judging panels to narrow down the nominees as the levels set were so high. It just underlines just how many amazing people we have in tennis.‘’

Scott Lloyd, Chief Executive of the LTA, said: “The LTA Tennis Awards are a real celebration of the people that make our sport thrive.

“They acknowledge the achievements made by outstanding volunteers, coaches, officials, venues and players, who are all vital in helping us to grow the game.

“The incredible contributions all the nominees have made to the sport and to their communities has been tremendously inspiring. I would like to thank them for their outstanding work and wish them all the best of luck for the ceremony in July.”

LTA Award nominees

Club of the Year

  • East Bergholt Tennis Club, Central & East
  • The Park Tennis Club, Midlands
  • Tavistock Tennis Club, South & South West

Competition of the Year

  • Framlingham Tennis Tournament, Central & East
  • ITF World Tour - Shrewsbury, Midlands
  • Newport Tennis Centre Regional Disability Competitions, Wales

Connecting Communities Award

  • Doncaster Community Tennis Programme, North
  • HACRO, Central & East
  • Tennis for all (Finsbury Park), London & South East

Development Coach of the Year

  • Alessia Palmieri, Scotland
  • Mark Thomas, Wales
  • Zane Cheeseman, England

Performance Coach of the Year

  • Ben Reeves, England
  • Craig Allen, England
  • James Trotman, England

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Les Mellor, Central & East
  • Leslie Paris, Midlands
  • Rosie Adams, Wales

Official of the Year

  • Kelly Thomson, Midlands
  • Lucy Davies, Scotland
  • Selena Coburn, Central & East

Park Venue of the Year

  • Branksome Park, South & South West
  • Lido Park Tennis, Midlands
  • Premier Tennis at Florence Park, Central & East

The LTA President’s Award

  • Arum Akom, London & South East
  • Barry Fulcher, London & South East
  • Simon Spalter, Central & East

Rising Star Award

  • Amy Dannatt, Midlands
  • Gethin Williams, Wales
  • Lily Butwright, Central & East
  • Lola-Juliet Omran, London & South East

School of the Year

  • Ashville College, North
  • Bradfield College, Central & East
  • The North School, London & South East

Tennis For All Award

  • Caerphilly Tennis Club, Wales
  • Carolle and Iman Tennis, Midlands
  • Whitstable LTC, London & South East

University of the Year

  • University of Bristol Tennis Club, South and South West
  • University of Exeter, South and South West
  • Leeds Beckett University Tennis, North

The Cathie Sabin Volunteer of the Year Award

  • Claire Nutt, South & South West
  • Emma Mastin, Midlands
  • Paula White, London & South East

Player Awards

  • Male Player of the Year – Cam Norrie
  • Female Player of the Year – Harriet Dart
  • Doubles Player of the Year – Joe Salisbury
  • Boys Player of the Year – Oliver Bonding
  • Girls Player of the Year – Ella McDonald
  • Wheelchair Junior Player of the Year – Ben Bartram
  • Wheelchair Player of the Year – Alfie Hewett
  • Senior Men Player of the Year – Sebastian Jackson
  • Senior Female Player of the Year – Michelle Oldham
  • Male Padel Player of the Year – Christian Medina Murphy
  • Female Padel Player of the Year – Tia Norton
Cookies on LTA site

We use cookies on our site to ACE your experience, improve the quality of our site and show you content we think you’ll be interested in. Let us know if you agree to cookies or if you’d prefer to manage your own settings.