Players | Tennis in Britain


The 2016 NEC Wheelchair Tennis Masters will be contested by 22 of the world's leading players, with the field for the quad singles expanded from four players to six players for 2016. 

The top eight ranked men's and women's singles players and the top six ranked quad singles players on the ITF Wheelchair Tennis Rankings of 10th October 2016 haved earned qualification for this year's prestigious tournament in London. 

Great Britain's Rio 2016 men's singles silver medallist Alfie Hewett will make his NEC Masters debut this year after former three-time champion Shingo Kunieda had to withdraw due to injury.

Former world No.1 Shraga Weinberg of Israel replaces currrent world No.1 Dylan Alcott in the field of six players for the quad singles after Alcott withdrew due to injury. Brit Antony Cotterill replaces last year's quad singles runner-up Lucas Sithole after Sithole also withdrew injured.      

World rankings as of 10th October 2016

World Ranking Player Nationality
 1  Stephane Houdet  FRA
 2  Gordon Reid  GBR 
 3  Joachim Gerard  BEL
 4  Gustavo Fernandez  ARG
 5  Nicolas Peifer  FRA
 6  Stefan Olsson  SWE
 8   Maikel Scheffers
 9  Alfie Hewett  GBR
 1  Jiske Griffioen  NED
 2  Aniek van Koot  NED
 3  Yui Kamiji  JPN
 4  Marjolein Buis  NED
 5  Jordanne Whiley  GBR
 6  Sabine Ellerbrock  GER
 7   Diede de Groot  NED
 8  Lucy Shuker
 2  David Wagner  USA
 4  Andy Lapthorne  GBR
 5  Itay Erenlib  ISR
 6  Kyu-Sueng Kim  KOR
10  Shraga Weinberg  ISR
11  Antony Cotterill  GBR