About | Tennis in Britain

About the NEC Wheelchair Tennis Masters

First held in 1994, the NEC Wheelchair Tennis Masters is the ITF's year-end championship for the world's top ranked wheelchair tennis singles players.

The NEC Masters invites the top eight men's and women's players and the top six quad players in the ITF Wheelchair Tennis Rankings to battle it out to be crowned master of their division.

 The round-robin format and subsequent knock-out and finals later in the tournament mean the NEC Wheelchair Tennis Masters is similar to the Barclays ATP World Tour Finals and the BNP Paribas WTA Finals.

The NEC Wheelchair Tennis Masters moved outside the Netherlands for the first time in 2011 and was held in Mechelen, Belgium in 2011 and 2012 before being held in Mission Viejo, California in 2013.

The Tennis Foundation has been awarded the rights to host the prestigious tournament from 2014 - 2016 at Lee Valley Hockey and Tennis Centre, formerly known as Eton Manor, the venue of the highly successful London 2012 Paralympic Tennis Event in Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park.