Regional tennis | Tennis in Britain

Regional tennis

Regional camp/training criteria and selection process

Regional teams will make player selections based on observations from centre and tournament visits. Players can also be nominated by their individual coach or county captain to the Regional Team if they feel that the player meets the following criteria.

1. Game development

Players should display effective repeatable technique and a good understanding of tactical play that is relative to their age, this includes:

  • Sound repeatable technique on serve, return, groundstrokes and net play
  • Displays the ability to control the ball well.
  • Exhibits a range of skills when rallying, attacking and defending
  • Showing awareness of tactical skills including anticipation and decision making.

2. Great approach to training

Players will be expected to conduct themselves in a way that contributes to the smooth running of camps and to show a positive approach to training. Behaviours we want to observe include:

  • Displaying a clear enthusiasm to work hard on and off the court.
  • Listening well and responding positively to instruction
  • The ability to focus on the process of training
  • Great attitude to chasing every ball, challenging themselves to never let the ball bounce twice.

3. Physical development

Players will be expected to show high levels of conditioning that allows them to train well from start to finish. Qualities we want to see are:

  • Good level of agility, balance and coordination to support future athletic development.
  • The capacity to engage physically in every drill or point.
  • Fit enough to perform throughout the entire day.

4. Competitive profile

Competition is important for players and we would expect players to be competing in regional level events (Grade 3 +) and show the following attributes:

  • Spirit, determination and a fair attitude to match play
  • A willingness to compete positively when under pressure
  • Developing high percentage tennis during rallying, attacking and defending phases of play

The Regional Team want to see a constant appetite for improvement and personal best mentality in players that are considered for regional camps.

Regional tennis contacts

East region

Name

Role

Email

Contact number

Sarah Hylton

Talent Performance Manager (TPM)

Sarah.Hylton@LTA.org.uk

07931253380

Natalia Ilkow

Regional Performance Coordinator (RPC)

Natalia.Ilkow@LTA.org.uk

07535681033

James Buswell

Regional Performance Coordinator (RPC)

James.Buswell@LTA.org.uk

07958304296

South east region

Name

Role

Email

Contact number

Keith Pullin

Talent Performance Manager (TPM)

Keith.Pullin@LTA.org.uk

07971141366

Mark Hayden

Regional Performance Coordinator (RPC)

Mark.Hayden@LTA.org.uk

07958252103

James Preston

Regional Performance Coordinator (RPC)

James.Preston@LTA.org.uk

07929477893

South west region

Name

Role

Email

Contact number

Simon Pender

Talent Performance Manager (TPM)

Simon.Pender@LTA.org.uk

07971141369

David Kirby

Regional Performance Coordinator (RPC)

David.Kirby@LTA.org.uk

07930116661

Dan Fella

Regional Performance Coordinator (RPC)

Dan.Fella@LTA.org.uk

07958304058

Midlands region

Name

Role

Email

Contact number

Andy Barnes

Talent Performance Manager (TPM)

Andy.Barnes@LTA.org.uk

07958291127

Phil Newbury

Regional Performance Coordinator (RPC)

Phil.Newbury@LTA.org.uk

07507643545

North region

Name

Role

Email

Contact number

Chris Peet

Talent Performance Manager (TPM)

Chris.Peet@LTA.org.uk

07957958782

John Loughton

Regional Performance Coordinator (RPC)

John.Loughton@LTA.org.uk

07958291213

Andrew Wilkinson

Regional Performance Coordinator (RPC)

Andrew.Wilkinson@LTA.org.uk

07983612472

Mike Woods

Regional Performance Coordinator (RPC)

Mike.Woods@LTA.org.uk

07958301652

Scotland

Name

Role

Email

Contact number

Derek Croll

Regional Performance Coordinator (RPC)

Derek.Croll@LTA.org.uk

07971141015