National Academies

What's the purpose of this programme?

  • To create a pro-style training environment that provides the volume, intensity and frequency needed for aspiring professional players
  • To nurture the person and the player to develop a game style with the head, heart, legs and weapons required for success
  • To increase the likelihood of players making the standard for Pro Scholarship Programme selection

Who is it for?

National Academies are for players aged 13 to 18 (although some players may join from age 11 in exceptional circumstances).

Selection for National Academies is exclusive – the maximum number of players in each National Academy will be capped at 16.

What will this programme be like?

  • National Academies provide high quality, high intensity daily training environments with world class science and medicine support
  • They are led by a team of world class coaches together with specialist sport scientists, medics, personal development and welfare practitioners
  • Players develop the weapons, decision making skills, athleticism and resilience that underpins a world class game style, and are required to successfully develop into emerging tour professionals
  • National Academies deliver a comprehensive tournament schedule that’s right for the age and stage of the player
  • National Academies operate full-time, year round, in partnership with a local school

How do players get involved?

There are two National Academies; Loughborough University and Tennis Scotland at the University of Stirling.

Download the map to see the locations of these centres

The players who form the first National Academy intake are:

GB National Tennis Academy at the University of Stirling

Player  County
Henry Jefferson Surrey
Sam Reeve Cheshire
Matthew Rankin Scotland East
Hannah Read Hertfordshire
Hephzibah Oluwadare Hertfordshire
Millie Skelton Yorkshire
Ella McDonald Lancashire 
Hannah Rylatt Lancashire
Kai-Luca Ampaw Surrey

Loughborough University National Tennis Academy

Player County
Eva Shaw Nottinghamshire
Hugo Coquelin Kent
Ranah Stoiber Middlesex
Sophya Devas Middlesex
Henry Searle Staffordshire
Luca Pow Warwickshire
Given Roach Middlesex
Kylie Bilchev Suffolk
Talia Neilson-Gatenby Leicestershire
Oliver Bonding Surrey
Mingge Xu Wales

Download the National Academy player selection policy for information on the selection process and criteria.