LTA Tennis Awards: National finalists announced


| News

Clapton Girls Academy

30 outstanding individuals and venues across the UK have been named as national finalists for this year’s LTA Tennis Awards. Recognised for their contribution to grassroots tennis over the past twelve months, the finalists have been shortlisted from 70 regional winners, all of whom help to open the sport up to new audiences. 

Launched in 2015, the LTA Tennis Awards serve to acknowledge the many thousands of individuals involved in tennis – from the 25,000 volunteers, to the 4,400 coaches and 940 officials. They also highlight the incredible achievements of some 20,000 schools, 2,700 clubs and over 9,700 LTA approved tournaments. The extraordinary contribution of the individuals and venues help to bring new fans and players to the game. 

Now in their fourth year, a record number of over 1,500 nominations were received for this year’s awards. Alex Beaumont, LTA Volunteering Manager and Tennis Awards lead said:

“Every year we're blown away by the standard of the applications and the phenomenal achievements they demonstrate in helping to grow the sport. The awards are an excellent way for the LTA to say thank you to everyone and celebrate that progress.”

“What always stands out for me is the level of love and dedication so many extraordinary and selfless people have, not just for the sport, but for their communities. We are proud to celebrate these accomplishments and trust they will inspire more to follow in their footsteps in the years ahead.”

“As a governing body, we can’t achieve our vision of making our sport relevant, accessible, welcoming and enjoyable without the support of dedicated and passionate fans of the grassroots game.”

National Finalists

Lifetime Achievement

John Taylor (North - Durham & Cleveland)
Simon Grainger (Central & East - Cambridgeshire)
Hamish McBain (Scotland)

Volunteer of the Year

Marina Foxlee (London & SE - Middlesex)
Ken Thomas (North - Cheshire)
Mark Taber (South & SW - Avon)

Young Person of the Year

Harrison Savage (North - Cumbria)
Jonathon Dawes (Wales)
Connie Simpson (South & SW - Avon)

Coach of the Year

Alan Russell (Scotland)
Luke House (London & SE - Kent)
Sam Salt (North - Yorkshire)

Official of the Year

Ed Bradford (Midlands - H&W)
Emily McGuinness (London & SE - Middlesex)
Dave Kitchen (North - Yorkshire)

Club of the Year

Ipswich Sports Club (Central & East - Suffolk)
Caerphilly Tennis Club (Wales)
Oakwood Tennis Club (London & SE - Kent)

Community Award

Aneurin Leisure (Wales)
A690 (North - Durham & Cleveland)
Parktennis Kingston (London & SE - Surrey)

Disability Award

Jimmy's Tennis (London & SE - Kent)
East Anglia Tennis & Squash (Central & East - Norfolk)
Portsmouth Tennis Centre (South & SW - Hamp & IOW)

Education Award

Clapton Girls Academy (Central & East - Essex)
Nottingham University (Midlands - Nottinghamshire)
Deal Parochial Primary  (London & SE - Kent)

Competition of the Year

Yorkshire County Champs (North - Yorkshire)
British Tour Penarth (Wales)
Sussex County Champs (London & SE - Sussex)

Want more?

We’ll be showcasing our wonderful finalists over the coming weeks in the build-up to the LTA Tennis Awards ceremony. Keep an eye on the LTA website and Twitter to discover their amazing stories.

Share article

  • Print