Skip to content

Group of people smiling at the camera for a picture
Tennis Wales

Tennis Wales Awards 2022 - Our winners are announced


Our 2022 Tennis Wales Awards winners have been crowned!

On Saturday 5th March, we celebrated the many achievements of our inspirational Welsh tennis community at our award ceremony held at the Voco. St David’s Hotel in Cardiff. 

The ceremony, hosted by ITV Wales news presenter and journalist Andrea Byrne, not only recognised our finalists from 2022 but also brought together some of the winners of our 2021 awards which were held virtually during the pandemic.  You can remind yourselves of last years winners here.

12 of the 2022 Tennis Wales Award winners (*) will now go onto be considered for the British Tennis Awards, being held virtually in May.

Simon Johnson, CEO at Tennis Wales said:

“It was fantastic to be able to celebrate once again with our Welsh tennis community, sponsors and partners. I want to thank every single person who helps make our sport happen across Wales, from our volunteers, coaches and officials, to our players, parents & fans who are all vital to making event like the Awards such a success. I wish all the winners the best of luck as they progress to the LTA Tennis Awards later in the year”

Guests of the evening helped to raise £400 for WhizzKids, to help support their work to ensure every young wheelchair user is mobile, enabled and included.

Our winners included:

Young Person of the Year – Emily-Mai Jordan (Llantrisant Tennis Club) *

Volunteer of the Year – Susie Griffiths (Bangor and Rhosneigr Tennis Club) *

School of the Year – Myddelton College *

Disability Award – Newport Tennis Centre *

Community and Parks Award (sponsored by Floodlighting Electrical Services) – Newport Tennis Centre *

Development Coach of the Year (sponsored by Dragon Signs) – John Whitehall (North Wales) 

Performance Coach of the Year – Geraint Richards  

Official of the Year – John Williams (Cardiff LTC) * 

Player of the Year – Mimi Xu

Competition – Rhiwbina ITF Welsh Open *

Team of the Year – U14 Junior Home Nations Team

Club of the Year (sponsored by Chiltern Sports Contractors) – Bridgend Lawn Tennis Club *

Club Team of the Year – Rhiwbina Men’s 1st Team

Lifetime Achievement Award – Liz Singer *

President’s Award – Mathew James *

A huge congratulations to our winners and thank you to everyone that joined us.

Take a look at a brief video of the evening!

Cookies on LTA site

We use cookies on our site to ACE your experience, improve the quality of our site and show you content we think you’ll be interested in. Let us know if you agree to cookies or if you’d prefer to manage your own settings.