Get your tickets for the World Cup of tennis this September from just £10
Skip to content

tennis scotland gold awards logo for 2022

Tennis Scotland Awards Shortlist 2022


The annual awards celebrate the achievements of the outstanding individuals, clubs, programmes, and competitions that shone in 2021.

It gives us great pleasure to announce the shortlisted nominees for the Tennis Scotland Awards 2022. The annual awards celebrate the achievements of the outstanding individuals, clubs, programmes, and competitions that shone in 2021, helping the sport to thrive by creating welcoming and enjoyable environments to play tennis.

We would once again like to thank everyone who acknowledged the exceptional contributions within the tennis community by submitting a nomination. This year, we’re greatly excited about the prospect of celebrating the past and present winners of the Tennis Scotland Awards at the Davis Cup taking place at the Emirates Arena in Glasgow in September, with this year’s category winners announced online on Friday, 29th April.

In the running for Volunteer of the Year are three individuals who have shown great initiative to encourage participation in tennis on a voluntary basis. Well done to Michael Goldie and Tara and Colin Birtwistle who have made the shortlist.

Young Person of the Year recognises youngsters who made an exceptional contribution both on and off the court in 2021, helping others to enjoy participating in tennis. Congratulations to this year’s shortlisted nominees Emma Howat, Holly Birtwistle and Cameron Rae.

The Development Coach of the Year award celebrates club and community coaches who innovatively delivered successful programmes in 2021. Well done to Jack Ganley, Graeme Walker and Eoin Swan who make up this category.

Performance Coach of the Year will be awarded to an individual who showed great innovation to deliver a coaching programme or continue the development of a performance player in 2021. Nominated in this category are Nathan Lundy, Karen Lamb, and Ashley Webster.

The prestigious Club of the Year award will be granted to an LTA registered venue that engaged its community last term through the provision of a welcoming, accessible, and inclusive environment to play tennis. Shortlisted for Club of the Year is Newlands LTC, Montrose Tennis Club and Musselburgh Tennis Club.

Nominated for the Disability Award are two organisations that work for the benefit of people with an impairment or long-term health condition. As a result of providing accessible opportunities for people with a disability, Kelvingrove Community TC (Carol Jones) and Chrysalis Tennis have been shortlisted for the accolade.

The title of Official of the Year will be won by a LTA Licensed Official, Referee, Umpire or Court Supervisor who has gone above and beyond their role to serve the tennis community. As a reward for an outstanding contribution to tennis, Vikki Paterson and Angela Ellis have been named on the shortlist.

The Elgin Lawn Tennis Club, the Nairn 90th Tournament and East Lothian Open have been nominated for Competition of the Year, a reward for outstanding event organisation and delivery.

Newlands LTC, North of Scotland Tennis, and the University of St Andrews have all been shortlisted for Team of the Year, awarded to teams that achieved outstanding results in 2021.

Nominees in full:

Volunteer of the Year

  • Michael Goldie
  • Tara and Colin Birtwistle

Young Person of the Year

  • Emma Howat
  • Holly Birtwistle
  • Cameron Rae

Coach of the Year (Development)

  • Jack Ganley
  • Graeme Walker
  • Eoin Swan

Coach of the Year (Performance)

  • Nathan Lundy
  • Karen Lamb
  • Ashley Webster

Club of the Year

  • Newlands LTC
  • Montrose Tennis Club
  • Musselburgh Tennis Club

Team of the Year

  • Newlands LTC
  • North of Scotland Tennis
  • University of St Andrews

Disability Award

  • Chrysalis Tennis
  • Kelvingrove Community TC (Carol Jones)

Official of the Year

  • Vikki Paterson
  • Angela Ellis

Competition of the Year

  • Elgin Lawn Tennis Club
  • The Nairn 90th Tournament
  • East Lothian Open

Winners of the above awards will be announced alongside the following category winners on the Tennis Scotland website, Facebook, Twitter and Instagram channels:

  • Senior Veteran Player of the Year
  • Lifetime Achievement Award
  • LTA President Award
  • University of the Year
  • School of the Year
  • Communities & Park Award
  • Junior Player of the Year
  • Senior Player of the Year
  • International Player of the Year
Cookies on LTA site

We use cookies on our site to ACE your experience, improve the quality of our site and show you content we think you’ll be interested in. Let us know if you agree to cookies or if you’d prefer to manage your own settings.