Follow live scores, results, draws and order of play from our 2024 grass court events
Skip to content

Harriet Dart beats Donna Vekic at the Rothesay Open Nottingham
Player news

Harriet Dart nominated for WTA Newcomer of the Year award


Harriet Dart has been nominated for the WTA Newcomer of the Year award at the 2022 WTA Player Awards off the back of a breakthrough season on the tour.

Dart is one of six players to be nominated for the WTA Newcomer of the Year award – given to the player who has broken into the top 100 and had the most notable accomplishments during the season.

Winners will be announced at the annual end-of-season awards ceremony.

WTA Newcomer of the Year nominees:

  • Harriet Dart (GBR)
  • Zheng Qinwen (CHN)
  • Linda Fruhvirtova (CZE)
  • Jule Niemeier (GER)
  • Mayar Sherif (EGY)
  • Laura Pigossi (BRA)

Find out more about all the award nominees


Dart has been nominated after her best season to date – reaching the top 100 for the first time after coming through qualifiers to make the fourth round at Indian Wells earlier in the year.

The British No.2 also reached WTA quarter-finals for the first time this year at the Rothesay Open Nottingham and Rothesay International Eastbourne.

She’s also claimed some career-best wins so far this season – including a win over ninth seed Daria Kasatkina in the first round at the US Open, Billie Jean King Cup champion Jill Teichmann in Eastbourne, third seed Camila Giorgi in Nottingham and former world No.3 Elina Svitolina at Indian Wells.

The 26-year-old has also enjoyed doubles success this season, winning the WTA 125 in Midland alongside Asia Muhammad and finishing runner-up at the WTA 250 Granby.

Dart rounded off her season as Britain’s stand-out performer at the Billie Jean King Cup Finals in Glasgow, claiming scalps over world No.13 Paula Badosa and Ajla Tomljanovic.

Cookies on LTA site

We use cookies on our site to ACE your experience, improve the quality of our site and show you content we think you’ll be interested in. Let us know if you agree to cookies or if you’d prefer to manage your own settings.