Davis Cup: The Brits drawn against France and Czech Republic in the finals


| Major Events

Great Britain have drawn France and Czech Republic in the group-stages of the Davis Cup Finals 2020 in Madrid, from 23-29 November. The Brits will compete in Group C at the Caja Mágica, as they aim to take home the Davis Cup title for the 11th time in the tournament's history. 


GB have faced France more times than any other team in the competition, having played 22 matches in the Davis Cup history. Of those 22 ties, Britain boasts a slight advantage having won 12, with the most recent victory coming in the 2015 quarter-final on their way to becoming champions. France come in to the event as the top-ranked team by Davis Cup rankings having won the title in 2017 and coming runners up in 2018. The nations last met in the 2017 quarter-final, where France came out as 4-1 winners on the day.

Czech Republic

Completing the Group C are 3-time champions Czech Republic, having reached the finals for the first time. Great Britain have only faced the back-to-back Davis Cup 2012 and 2013 winners five times in their history, with a narrow head-to-head advantage having beaten them on three occassions. The teams most recent tie was held 20 years ago in 2000, where the Czech team knocked Britain out in the first round. 

To reach the quarter-finals, the Brits will either have to top the group or go through as one of two of the runners up with the best records based on percentage of sets won.

Great Britain Davis Cup Captain, Leon Smith said: “France are always tough and we would have liked a weaker third team, like Sweden or Equador, Colombia or Hungary. However we should be favourites against the Czechs if all our players are fit and available."

The rest of the draw

Elsewhere, 2019 champions Spain have been drawn with last year's semi-finalists Russia and debutants Ecuador in Group A, with runners up Canada set to face Kazakhstan and Sweden in Group B. Croatia will play Australia and Hungary, whilst 32-time champions USA will be aiming to win their first title since 2007 as they face Italy and Colombia. In the final group, world numer one Novak Djokovic's Serbia have drawn Germany and Austria. 

Confirmation of the groups in full:

Group A: Spain (1), Russia, Ecuador

Group B: Canada (2), Kazakhstan, Sweden

Group C: France (3), Great Britain, Czech Republic

Group D: Croatia (4), Australia, Hungary

Group E: USA (5), Italy, Colombia

Group F: Serbia (6), Germany, Austria


Back the Brits! 

Keep up-to-date with all the latest news about the GB Davis Cup team by following LTA on TwitterFacebook and Instagram, and signing up to LTA's free newsletter.  

Share article

  • Print