3 - 12 January 2020


Brisbane/Perth/Sydney, Australia

ATP Cup: Brits target success in Sydney

  • ATP Cup Logo
  • 02/01/2020

  • Major Events

The world’s top male players will kickstart their 2020 seasons tomorrow (Friday 3 January) at the first ever ATP Cup. 

Singles stars Dan Evans, Cam Norrie and James Ward, along with doubles specialists Joe Salisbury and Jamie Murray will represent Great Britain, led by British legend Tim Henman as the team’s captain.

What is the ATP Cup?

The ATP Cup is a new season opener, taking place 3-12 January 2020. The event will see 24 nations split into six groups competing across Australia. The Pat Rafter Arena in Brisbane will play host to Group A and Group F, the RAC Arena in Perth will welcome Group B and Group D, and Group C and Group E will battle at the Ken Rosewall Arena in Sydney.

Nations qualified based on the ranking of a country’s top-ranked player which meant that Great Britain were one of the first to secure their spot, based on Andy Murray’s Protected Ranking of world No.2.

All groups will play three ties with each one featuring two singles and one doubles match. The round-robin group stages will be played 3-8 January, with the winner of each group – along with the next two top performing teams – advancing to the knockout stages in Sydney, 9-12 January (quarter-finals, semi-finals and final). All matches will be best-of-three tie-break sets, but the doubles will follow no-advantage scoring and a match tie-break replaces a possible third set.

As well as playing for pride, the total player prize money is AU$22, along with a maximum of 750 ATP ranking points. Find out more about the ATP Cup

Who’s playing?

The ATP Cup is headlined by the likes of Spain’s world No.1 Rafa Nadal (Group B – Perth), Serbian world No.2 Novak Djokovic (Group A – Brisbane) and Greece's reigning ATP Finals champion Stefanos Tsitsipas (Group F – Brisbane).

Last week, three-time Grand Slam champion Andy Murray pulled out of the event due to a pelvic injury and therefore, freed up a spot in the GB team.  This was filled by Davis Cup hero James Ward who joins British No.1 Dan Evans, British No.2 Cam Norrie, six-time Grand Slam doubles champion Jamie Murray and Joe Salisbury, who’s fresh from competing in his first ever ATP Finals.

Great Britain’s group

The Brits are joined by Bulgaria, Belgium and Moldova in Group E, with Grigor Dimitrov, David Goffin and Radu Albot starring as each nation’s top singlers player.

If the Brits top their group, they will face the winner of Group F (Germany, Australia, Greece and Canada) on Thursday 9 January in the quarter-finals.


  • GB v Bulgaria, Friday 3 January, 17:30 local time (06:30 GMT - Friday morning)
  • GB v  Belgium, Sunday 5 January, 17:30 local time (06:30 GMT - Sunday morning)
  • GB v Moldova, Tuesday 7 January, 10:00 local time (23:00 GMT - Monday evening)

Check out the full ATP Cup schedule

Fun facts

  • Tim Henman and Jamie Murray's history of representing GB began in 2007 during two Davis Cup ties. They were paired up for Tim's final Davis Cup rubber at Wimbledon which saw them defeat Croatia. This time round, Tim will be calling the shots as captain, not as a doubles partner!
  • Tim is no stranger to success in Sydney, having won his first ATP title at the first title there in 1997
  • The recently renovated Ken Rosewall Arena is located at Sydney Olympic Park and hosted the tennis event during the 2000 Olympics

Back the Brits! 

Keep up-to-date with all the latest news about the GB ATP Cup Team by following LTA on TwitterFacebook and Instagram, and signing up to LTA's free newsletter.  All GB matches will be live on Amazon Prime.