The Queen's Club Championships & the Queen's Club History | LTA | Tennis in Britain

The Queen's Club Championships History

The Queen's Club

Established in 1886, The Queen's Club was the first multipurpose sports complex ever to be built, anywhere in the world.

It was named after Queen Victoria, its first patron, and is widely renowned as one of the premier Lawn Tennis and Racquets clubs in the world.

Throughout its history, the Club has been an exceptional sporting venue, and today hosts the world famous Queen's Club Championships.

The Club boasts 28 outdoor Lawn Tennis courts, of which 12 are arguably the finest grass courts in the world, 10 indoor Lawn Tennis courts, 2 Real Tennis courts, 2 Rackets courts, 3 squash courts and a gymnasium.

The Club also offers excellent hospitality facilities, including an elegant restaurant, cafe, museum, and President's Room - all located within the Members' Clubhouse.

The overall setting is both tranquil and charming.

The Queen's Club Championships

The Queen's Club Championships is an annual event on the men’s professional ATP World Tour. Established in 1890 and held at the Queen’s Club in West Kensington each June in the run-up to Wimbledon, it is consistently supported by the best singles and doubles players of the men's game.

Since 1979, many iconic players and past Wimbledon champions have played at the Tournament.  Murray, Connors, Lendl, Edberg and Sampras are amongst the legends that have proudly lifted the iconic silver winner’s trophy.

Roll of Honour

Download the full Queen's Club Championships Roll of Honour to see all the past winners of the tournament.


Temporarily Unavailable

This feature is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later.