Skip to content

Tennis Wales

Tennis Wales Awards 2023: The Shortlist


Following a staggering number of nominations from our Welsh tennis community, our shortlist has been confirmed.

We have been blown away by the number of inspirational nominations this year, and it took our panel longer than ever to come to a decision.  However, after hours of deliberation, debate and votes the shortlist has been confirmed!  

Thank you to everyone who took the time to nominate this year.  Our shortlist includes:

Club of the Year:

  • Bangor Tennis Club
  • Caerphilly Tennis Club
  • Rhiwbina Tennis Club

Club Team of the Year:

  • Cardiff LTC Men’s 1st Team
  • Mold Men’s A Team
  • Rhiwbina Ladies 5th Team

Development Coach sponsored by Dragon Signs:

  • Jonathan Morgan – Caerphilly Tennis Club
  • Mark Thomas – Bridgend Tennis Club
  • Will Croft – Various South Wales Venues/Tennis Squad


  • Dr Ed Wilkins – Bridgend Tennis Club
  • John Denton  - Rhondda Lawn Tennis Club
  • Neil Roberts – Cardiff Baseliners

Rising Star:

  • Charlie Poppy – Llantrisant Tennis Club / Tennis Squad
  • Gethin Williams – Rhiwbina Tennis Club
  • Julia Piaszczynska – Swansea Tennis Centre

Team of the Year sponsored by Genero Productions:

  • South Wales Boys Under 14’s
  • Wales Junior Home Nations
  • Welsh Ladies Over 50’s

Junior Player of the Year:

  • Mimi Xu
  • Niall Pickerd-Barua
  • Viktor Frydrych

Adult Player of the Year:

  • Finn Murgett
  • James Story
  • Kevin Lewis

The winners of the above categories will be announced during the awards ceremony being held on Thursday 23rd February. The evening will also celebrate the winners of the below categories.

Competition of the Year: Newport Tennis Centre Regional Disability Competitions

Official of the Year: Ben Coates from Penarth Lawn Tennis Club / Vale Tennis Academy

Tennis for All Award: Caerphilly Tennis Club

School of the Year Award: Coryton Primary School

Performance Coach of the Year: Luke Simeone from Swansea Tennis Centre

Connecting Communities Award sponsored by Floodlighting and Electrical Services: Urdd Gobaith Cymru

Lifetime Achievement: Rosie Adams from Penallt Tennis Club

President’s Award: David Stillman MBE from South Wales

The Awards evening has been scheduled for 6.30pm on Thursday 23rd February, and will be held in a marquee at Cardiff Arms Park.  

We are delighted to confirm that we will be joined by ex-Wales Rugby Captain Ryan Jones and Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson. The event will be hosted by Speakeasy Club.

For further information or to puchase tickets please click here. For questions please contact maria.rees@tenniswales.org.uk

Congratulations to our shortlisted nominees and our winners.  We look forward to celebrating with you in February.

Awards 2023-1.png

Cookies on LTA site

We use cookies on our site to ACE your experience, improve the quality of our site and show you content we think you’ll be interested in. Let us know if you agree to cookies or if you’d prefer to manage your own settings.