Skip to content

LTA Awards

Sara Butler wins President's Award at LTA Tennis Awards


Sara Butler, a Warwickshire tennis hero who stepped in to make sure tennis events could run once Covid restrictions were eased has won the President’s Award at the LTA Awards.

With Seniors Tennis events in the county set to be cancelled due to the lack of a Covid officer, Sara Butler offered to take on the role, working tirelessly to make sure players were aware of protocols at all times.

Butler volunteered for 29 days in total, travelling across the country and regularly staying away from home to make sure as many events as possible could take place.

She was announced as the winner by LTA President David Rawlinson at a live-streamed awards ceremony presented by David Rawlinson and hosted by the LTA’s Head of Men’s Tennis Leon Smith.

The LTA Tennis Awards are now in their seventh year and celebrate the achievements and contributions of outstanding tennis volunteers, coaches, officials, venues and players across the country.

Butler was hand-picked as one of 17 national winners recognised at the awards ceremony on Thursday, which honoured individuals involved in tennis at grassroots, county, regional and national level.

Nominations were drawn from over 25,000 volunteers, nearly 5,000 coaches and 1,000 officials, 22,000 schools, nearly 3,000 clubs and over 9,000 LTA approved tournaments, with Butler celebrated for her hard work.

The LTA President’s Award is given at the discretion of the LTA President to an individual or group for doing something exceptional in tennis.

Often working 12 hour days, Butler was able to balance her work and home life, and her own playing time, alongside completing her Covid duties to the highest of standards.

The quality and quantity of the nominations demonstrate outstanding work that has been done in tennis throughout the year and David Rawlinson, LTA President, said: “The LTA Tennis Awards are a real celebration of the people that make our sport thrive.

“They acknowledge the achievements made by outstanding volunteers, coaches, officials, venues and players, who are all vital in helping us to grow the game.

“The outstanding contributions the nominees have made to the sport and to their communities has been tremendously uplifting and I would like to thank them for their fantastic work.”

Congratulations to all the LTA President’s Award National Finalists:

  • Arum Akom (Essex)
  • Donna Andrews (Norfolk)
  • Tessa Bass (Sussex)
  • Sara Butler (Warwickshire)
  • Mathew James (Wales)
  • Sarah Lacey (Oxfordshire)
  • Chris Marshall (Surrey)
  • Northumberland Ladies (Northumberland)
  • Royal Wootton Bassett Tennis Club (Wiltshire)
  • Brenda Stewart (Middlesex)
  • Grace Stockdale (Cheshire)
  • Graeme Soutar (Scotland)
  • Tessa Terry (Hertfordshire)
Cookies on LTA site

We use cookies on our site to ACE your experience, improve the quality of our site and show you content we think you’ll be interested in. Let us know if you agree to cookies or if you’d prefer to manage your own settings.