Skip to content

Andy Murray smiling with his trophy with confetti raining down
Player news

Murray, Konta, Clarke & Appleton named Aegon British Tennis Players of the Year


On Tuesday 4 July, a host of volunteers, coaches and players will gather at The Championships, Wimbledon for the annual Aegon British Tennis Awards ceremony.

And as the action at SW19 gets well and truly underway and the Brits put all their hard work into practice, we’re delighted to reveal Andy Murray, Johanna Konta, Jay Clarke and Emily Appleton all feature as the Aegon British Tennis Players of the Year!

The Awards were selected by the LTA’s Performance Team panel, who based their decisions on the players they believed had gone above and beyond from January to December 2016, and here’s why…

Andy Murray, Aegon Men’s Player of the Year


Andy flew high in 2016, smashing records and making even more history. In total he tallied up an incredible nine titles, the most he has even won in a year.

These included his second Wimbledon trophy and third Grand Slam title in total, a record-breaking second Olympic singles gold medal and three ATP Masters 1000 titles at Rome, Shanghai and Paris.

To top it all off, his magical run at the ATP World Tour Finals saw him lift the iconic trophy for the first time, and in doing so was crowned the year-end World No.1.

Johanna Konta, Aegon Women’s Player of the Year


Johanna kickstarted 2016 with an incredible run at the Australian Open, when she achieved a career-high at a Grand Slam by sailing through to the semi-finals. In July, she captured her first WTA Premier title at Stanford and went onto reach the quarter-finals of the Olympics.

Her outstanding efforts made her the first British women since 1984 to earn a spot inside the WTA’s Top 10.

Jay Clarke, Aegon Junior Men’s Player of the Year


Jay was in his final year as a Junior in 2016 and was making the transition from Junior ITF events to the Senior game. He reached a junior high ranking of No.15 in the world before turning his focus onto the Pro Circuit Tour.

He made a smashing start to the year and took his world ranking from outside 2,000 to No.535 by winning two Futures titles, as well as reaching four semi-finals and five quarter-finals.

Emily Appleton, Aegon Junior Women’s Player of the Year


Emily had a fantastic year on the Junior ITF tour, claiming two singles titles and reaching the quarter-finals or later stages at a further four tournaments. These results helped her gain a Top 20 Junior ranking and her remarkable consistency has enabled her to break into the Top 10 this year.

Emily also began the tough transition into the Women’s game by playing several Pro-Circuit events and gaining a WTA ranking.

All Award-winners will be formally announced in Tuesday’s Aegon British Tennis Awards ceremony so watch this space!

Cookies on LTA site

We use cookies on our site to ACE your experience, improve the quality of our site and show you content we think you’ll be interested in. Let us know if you agree to cookies or if you’d prefer to manage your own settings.