Skip to content

Billie Jean King Cup by Gainbridge

La Cartuja Stadium, Seville, Spain 13 - 20 November 2024

Buy tickets

Format and schedule


2022 GB-Billie-Jean-King-Cup-team.jpg

What is the Billie Jean King Cup?

The Billie Jean King Cup by Gainbridge, formerly known as the Fed Cup, is the World Cup of tennis.

In September 2020, the competition was officially named in honour of 39-time Grand Slam Champion King, who won it 10 times in her career: seven times as a player and four times as a captain (including once as a player-captain).

It offers players from around the world the chance to represent their country and, with more than 100 nations involved, is the largest annual international team competition in women’s sport.

How does it work?

The Billie Jean King Cup is split into four sections: the Finals, Qualifiers, Play-Offs and Groups.

The 12 leading teams contest the Finals at one location over six days. Further information on where and when the 2024 Finals will take place is still to come.

In order to make the Finals teams must win a Qualifier

If they lose the qualifier, they will have to compete in a Play-off tie for a spot in next year's qualifiers. Great Britain's next Play-off is against Sweden in November.

Full details around the format of the Billie Jean King Cup can be found below:

Explore format

Cookies on LTA site

We use cookies on our site to ACE your experience, improve the quality of our site and show you content we think you’ll be interested in. Let us know if you agree to cookies or if you’d prefer to manage your own settings.