British Tour Masters 2018: Everything you need to know


| News

Sean Hodkin in action

From Thursday 6 to Saturday 8 December, the British Tour Masters will be taking place at Loughborough University Tennis Centre, showcasing top quality men's and women's tennis. 

The season-ending annual event rallies together a pool of Britain's most promising players who have secured their place through solid performances on the British Tour throughout the year.  

The British Tour features a circuit of tournaments set to give up-and-coming players the opportunity to gain competitive match experience. 

Who's playing?

The men’s player list is headed up by Neil Pauffley, who has a current ATP ranking of 627 and has won five ITF Futures singles titles in his career so far. The 28-year-old from Slough will be looking to capture his third British Tour Masters title, having won in 2014 and 2016.

Reigning men's Masters champion Sean Hodkin looks to retain his title after another strong year on the British Tour. The 20-year-old from Lincoln has captured five British Tour titles in 2018, including winning three in a row in the past month to finish the circuit top of the leaderboard and win the Men’s Bonus Pool for a second consecutive year. In total there are seven ATP world ranked players in contention for the title, including Loughborough students Michael Shaw, George Foster and Jo Newman-Billington.

Last year's women's runner-up Victoria Allen will attempt to go one step further in this year's event, whilst world No.751 Ella Taylor will be a strong contender for the title. 17-year-old Andre Lukosiute won the 2018 Women’s Bonus Pool by capturing four titles across the circuit and will be boosted with confidence after winning two of the last three events.

Fun facts 


  • Previous champions include rising WTA star Harriet Dart (2012) and 2016 Wimbledon hero Marcus Willis (2013). Fed Cup Captain Anne Keothavong was named a British Tour champion in 2001 when winners were crowned based on the points they accumulated from British Tour tournaments they'd competed in throughout the year
  • Former British No.2 Dan Evans played in the 2015 event, just four days after travelling to Belgium for Great Britain's famous Davis Cup victory 
  • The tournament has a total prize money pot of £9,400 up for grabs, with a cheque of £1,500 for both winners
  • The British Tour Masters made its debut in 2005 and hosted at the National Tennis Centre in London 
  • 2018 marks the event's third appearnace at Loughborough University - one of the country's leading universities which is renowned for its unrivalled sporting achievements. Already this year, it's hosted an inaugural ATP Challenger tournament in May,  along with an ITF Pro Circuit men’s $15,000 and women’s $25,000 event in February

What happened last year? 

Nell Miller and Sean Hodkin were victorious in 2017 which meant that trophies were lifted by two new champions. Miller only moved into the draw the night before the event started and immediately drove up to Loughborough from Kent.

The then 17-year-old from Bromley won the title without dropping a set and said: "It was great to get the call up the night before and obviously I’m pleased to win the Masters title today. The prize money will certainly go to good use to help my tennis too!"

Who said what?  

Tournament Director Richard Joyner

"We are really looking forward to staging the Masters at Loughborough University for a third time. Last year’s British Tour Masters was well supported, and we are hoping for some more great support over the three days."

Follow the action 

Play at Loughborough starts at 10am on Thursday and Friday, with the singles finals scheduled from 10:30am on Saturday. Entry for spectators is free of charge, with courtside seating on Saturday.

Keep up-to-date with the draws and latest results here.

Share article

  • Print