Tennis Wales Awards : Our shortlisted nominees and winners


| Tennis Wales

We are delighted to announce that the shortlisted nominees for our 2019 Tennis Wales Awards have now been confirmed.

The ceremony will be held at 6.45pm on Saturday 25th January at St David's Hotel in Cardiff.  Tickets cost £35 per person (discounts are available for guests under 12 who wish to have a childs meal) and will include a drink on arrival, three course meal followed by the award presentation. This year's event will be compered by Lewis Vaughan-Jones, BBC and ITN News Presenter.  During the evening we will also be raising vital funds for Tenovus Cancer Care.

Our shortlisted finalists for the evening include: 

Volunteer of the Year:

Julie Greenslade (Aberaeron Sports Club)

Alison James (Windsor Lawn Tennis Club, Penarth)

Ceri Simpson (Caerphilly Tennis Club)

Inspire2coach Young Person of the Year:

Jonah Jones (Caerphilly Tennis Club)

Alfie Ottery (Newport Tennis Centre)

Chloe Thomas (Newport Tennis Centre)

Dragon Signs Coach of the Year:

Kari Davies (Magor)

Michael Herd (Flintshire)

Jonathan Morgan (Caerphilly Tennis Club)

Chiltern Sports Club of the Year:

Caerphilly Tennis Club

Cardiff Lawn Tennis Club

Rhiwbina Tennis Club

Team of the Year:

Junior Home Nations Team

Men’s 1st Team Cardiff

U10 North Wales County Team

Player of the Year:

Evan Hoyt (Llanelli Tennis and Squash Club)

James Story (Cardiff Met / XL Academy)

Mingge Xu (Swansea Tennis Centre)

During the evening we will also discover more about the winners of the below categories:

Official of the Year : Paul Pritchard

Competition of the Year : Penarth LTC Grade 3

Disability Programme of the Year :  Wrexham Tennis Centre

Education Programme of the Year : Lewis School, Bargoed

Lifetime Achievement : Stephen Clarke

To purchase tickets please complete the attached pro forma and return it to Maria Rees ( by January 9th. There is car parking onsite and an additional pay and display car park nearby. Rooms are available at the hotel, plus there are many other hotels in the area should you wish to search for an alternative venue (CF10 5SD).

Thank you to our wonderful shortlisting panel who had the unenviable job of choosing our winners and runners up. 

We hope you are able to join us on the evening and congratulations to our shortlisted nominees and winners.

Share article

  • Print