Skip to content

Tennis Wales

Junior Home Nations Squad Revealed


The Wales squad for the 2022 Junior Home Nations Championships has been announced.

Wales will be sending three teams to the Championships, which take place from 23-25 September at Scotstoun Tennis Centre, Glasgow.

The Under-12 team will be captained by Luke Simeone and includes Rundong Huang, Awen Gwilym-Davies, Isabella Lieve-Morgan, and recently crowned Under-12 GB Singles Champion Niall Pickerd-Barua.

Niall posing with his cup after winning tennis tournament

Becca Strelzyn will head up the Under-14 team, which is made up of Freya Walters, Jemima Dean, Archie Gray, and Oliver Page.

The Under-18 team is Mimi Xu, who holds the Under-16 and Under-18 GB Singles titles, Abby Kelliher, Viktor Frydrych and Conor Flynn. Their captain is Phil Thomas.

Female tennis player returning a shot mid game

Tennis Wales’ Head of Performance Chris Lewis said: “This is a strong squad with a mixture of GB Champions and finalists, GB representatives, and Welsh Champions.

“The Junior Home Nations always provides a great experience for the players as it is a unique event where players of three different age-groups combine to try to win the overall title. It’s a chance for them to test themselves against the best in the UK at and I’m confident that they will rise to the challenge.

“We have no doubt that Wales will be getting behind the team this year as they bid to win the title for the third time in four years.”

Cookies on LTA site

We use cookies on our site to ACE your experience, improve the quality of our site and show you content we think you’ll be interested in. Let us know if you agree to cookies or if you’d prefer to manage your own settings.