Skip to content

Tennis Scotland Awards 2019 nominees


The shortlist for the Tennis Scotland Awards 2019 has been finalised and we are delighted to announce the nominees who are in the running for the prizes.

The panel has been overwhelmed by the incredible standard of nominations and would like to thank everyone for their hard work and dedication to clubs, teams, tournaments and programmes across Scotland over the last year.

This year, there are a total of 13 categories which will recognise the best players, clubs, officials and volunteers in Scottish tennis. Category winners are scheduled to be confirmed in April and will automatically be put forward for the British Tennis Awards.

One of the most sought-after categories is the Lifetime Achievement award which rewards volunteers who have displayed outstanding commitment and a lifetime dedication to the sport. This is reserved for exceptional role models who have developed a tennis legacy; either within a venue or in the wider community, providing the opportunity for more people to participate in the sport. Nominees for the Lifetime Achievement award are Jane Bradley, Yvonne Birnie, and Bryan Leslie.

Volunteer of the Year is given to individuals who have made a significant impact to tennis within a voluntary capacity over the last 12 months. All nominees have displayed excellent teamwork skills, and engaged well with people from different backgrounds, increasing the opportunity for participation in the sport. Well done to this year’s nominees as Morris Thompson (Coylton TC), Hannah Lord (West End LTC) and Bryan Leslie (Gullane TC).

The nominees for Coach of the Year are recognised for making a significant impact on a player’s, club and coaching/community programme. They have helped to develop other coaches and young people, providing opportunities to players of different ages, abilities and backgrounds. Congratulations to Euan McGinn (Uni of Stirling), Lesley Whitehead (Glasgow Disability Tennis) and Derek Brown (Strathgryffe) who make up this year’s category shortlist.

Club of the Year is awarded to LTA registered venues that have grown memberships and the number of people participating in tennis over the past year. Shortlisted clubs are recognised for having a strong leadership team with excellent working relationships between the committee, coaches and members, whilst showing innovation and creativity for running a successful club. In the running for Club of the Year is Prestwick Tennis and Fitness, Thorn Park, and Western Heath and Racquets Club.

Contenders for the Communities and Parks Award have been selected as a result of strong community links which have grown the number of people playing, watching or volunteering in tennis, as a result of finding creative ways to engage with the community. The nominees are Cooper Park, Accessible Tennis CIC and Meadows Tennis Park.

The Education Award is given to a school, college or university offering a significant and varied tennis programme of coaching and competitions for a large proportion of students of all abilities. This year’s contestants, Edinburgh Uni LTC/Edinburgh Meadows and Fraser Gilmour (Glasgow City Council), have displayed successful and sustainable links with the local community, and offered students the chance to develop through tennis.

Nominated for the Disability Award are venues and programmes which provide quality accessible and affordable opportunities for people with a disability to play, volunteer or work in tennis. Shortlisted for this award are Prestwick Tennis and Fitness Disability Programme and Gary Kitchener (The Sporting Aces), as a result of growing the number of participants over the last year whilst providing a safe and inclusive environment to all.

The award for Official of the Year is gifted to an LTA Licensed Official, Referee, Umpire or Court Supervisor who has shown an outstanding contribution to British Tennis in an officiating role, going above and beyond the minimum requirement for their certification/grade. Nominees for this category, Richard Gardner, Colin Hanbidge and Olwyn Roy.

Competition of the Year is awarded based on the ability to grow and develop a competition. Shortlisted nominations have been delivered with a team approach, alongside a close working relationship with local clubs, coaches and their communities. Up for the award is Richard Gardner (St Andrews), East Lothian Open (North Berwick), Richard Cook (Giffnock TC).

Team of the Year is presented to a Scottish team who, competing domestically or internationally, have achieved the most over the past 12 months and whose performances and conduct on court have inspired others. Nominated in this category are Men’s 4th Team (Barnton Park LTC) and 12U Boys North County Cup Team.

The winners of the junior, senior and international players of the year will be announced in due course.

Nominees in full:

Lifetime Achievement

  • Jane Bradley (Inverness Tennis & Squash club)
  • Yvonne Birnie (Rothiemurchus and Aviemore TC)
  • Bryan Leslie (Gullane TC)

Volunteer of the Year

  • Morris Thompson (Coylton TC)
  • Hannah Lord (West End LTC)
  • Bryan Leslie (Gullane TC)

Coach of the Year

  • Euan McGinn (Uni of Stirling)
  • Lesley Whitehead (Glasgow Disability Tennis)
  • Derek Brown (Strathgryffe)

Club of the Year

  • Prestwick Tennis and Fitness
  • Thorn Park
  • Western Heath and Racquets Club

Communities and Parks Award

  • Cooper Park
  • Accessible Tennis CIC
  • Meadows Tennis Park

Education Award

  • Edinburgh Uni Ltc/Edinburgh Meadows
  • Fraser Gilmour (Glasgow City Council)

Disability Award

  • Prestwick Tennis and Fitness Disability Programme
  • Gary Kitchener (The Sporting Aces)

Official of the Year

  • Richard Gardner (St Andrews)
  • Colin Hanbidge (Giffnock Tennis and Squash Club)
  • Olwyn Roy

Competition of the Year

  • Richard Gardner (St Andrews)
  • East Lothian Open (North Berwick)
  • Giffnock TC/Richard Cook (Giffnock TC)

Team of the Year

  • Men’s 4th Team (Barnton Park LTC)
  • 12U Boys North County Cup Team

Junior Player of the Year

  • To be announced

Senior Player of the Year

  • To be announced

International Player of the Year

  • To be announced
Cookies on LTA site

We use cookies on our site to ACE your experience, improve the quality of our site and show you content we think you’ll be interested in. Let us know if you agree to cookies or if you’d prefer to manage your own settings.