Seniors and Super Seniors GB Teams announced for ITF Seniors World Team Championship


| Seniors Tennis

Seniors Tennis GB and the LTA today were delighted to announce their selections for the upcoming World Team Championships to be held in Palm Beach, Florida at the end of April and into May.

The Championships held under the auspices of the International Tennis Federation (ITF) are described as the premier international competition for the world’s best tennis players aged 35 years and above. With representatives from 30 countries playing at 5 venues the Championships cater for three distinct age categories - Young-Seniors (30–45+), Seniors (50-60+) and Super-Seniors (65-90+). Today’s GB Team selections are for the World Super Seniors and Seniors age group events.

Speaking about today’s selection announcements, Edward Oakenfull, Head Selector of Senior Tennis GB said:

“Over the last two years, competitive tennis has proved challenging for both players and organisers alike so I’m delighted to start 2022 on such a positive note by announcing our team selections.

These players have worked incredibly hard and shown such dedication in wanting to improve their level at tennis. They also compete across the year in numerous tournaments around the UK including our National Championships.

Their selection to represent their country is the reward for this. I wish them every success.”

Selections for the Young Seniors will be made after the National Indoor Championships to be held in Wrexham at the end of February. Entries for this can be found on the LTA Senior Tennis website.

M50 M55 M60

Andrew Phillips (Captain)
Timur Shadiev
Seb Jackson
Charles Durham

Ian Udal and Ross Matheson

Matt Coombes (Captain)
Simon Edmonds
Linden Hardisty
David Shann

Andrew Hutchinson and Mark Rowe

Chris Hearn (Captain)
Alistair Alexander
Graham Neale
Peter Wingrove

Martin Gillam and Richard Jackson

W50 W55 W60

Jo Shepherd (Captain)
Bridie Amos
Michelle Oldham
Teresa Catlin

Jane Hunter and Katie Shaw

Siobhan Nicholson (captain)
Rachel Apsey
Cath Davies
Julie Salmon

Sue Espley and Nayla Solh

Sue Bartlett (Captain)
Gillian Brook
Judy Horn
Debra Schmidt

Emma Bowen and Hazel Lindfield

M65 M70 M75

Paul French (Captain)
Martin Cornish
David Robbins Tien
Bruce Young

Jasper Cooper and Mike Dawe

Niall Sweeney (Captain)
Boyd Brackstone
Benson Greatrex
Neil McPherson

Wilf Jessop and Allan Thompson

Richard Tutt (Captain)
Mike Hepker
Chris Ornstien
Alex Templer

Alan Purnell and Olly Rogger

W65 W70 W75

Anne Clark (Captain)
Jane Rushby
Pat Wire
Dee Smith

Jane Timmis and Sue Winters

Marjory Love (Captain)
Pauline Fisher
Shirley Fox
Rosemary Wilson

Jackie Robinson and Christine Windmill

Frances McLennan (Captain)
Phyllis Bentham
Christine Lockhart
Jenny Waggot


M80 M85  

Henk Nijeboer (Captain)
John Andrews
Roger Taylor

Reserves & 4th Place
David Brazier, Clive Hutchings and David Trew

Lennie Lawrence (Captain)
Gene Harris
Gordon Oates
Leonard Phillips

Stuart Gould

W80 W85  

Jacky Boothman (Captain)
Carol Davies
Joan Hassell
Mary Walkerdine

Dorothy Bamber and Jean Porter

June Pearce (Captain)
Alma A' Court
Sally Beeley
Pam McGrath

Pauline Barnett and Elizabeth Fisher


Share article

  • Print