Skip to content

Andy Murray celebrates winning his First Round match against Benoît Paire during Day 2 of the 2021 cinch Championships
Grand Slam

Young talent among familiar names as Wimbledon main draw and qualifying wildcards announced


A range of promising players on the LTA’s Player Pathway join some familiar names on the All England Club’s initial list of wildcards into The Championships, Wimbledon singles main draw and main draw qualifying, which was announced this morning.

Ten players including Andy Murray, Jack Draper, Fran Jones and Katie Boulter have received main draw wildcards, while eleven players have received wildcards into main draw qualifying.

Draper, Jones and Boulter, along with fellow main draw wildcards Harriet Dart, Jodie Burrage, Emma Raducanu and Jay Clarke, are all supported by the LTA’s Pro Scholarship Programme (PSP), with another six PSP players in qualifying. A further two players in qualifying are supported by the LTA’s Men’s & Women’s Programme (MWP).

Other qualifying wildcards include Eva Shaw and William Jansen – who become the first Junior National champions to receive Main Draw Qualifying wildcards as a result of a new initiative introduced by the LTA and the All England Lawn Tennis Club, designed to provide more competitive opportunities on home soil to the country’s most promising young players.

The wildcards will join Dan Evans, Cameron Norrie, Johanna Konta and Heather Watson who are Direct Acceptances into the main singles draw. In addition, 16 British players will benefit from wildcards into the doubles main draw. The wildcards bring the total number of British players so far confirmed to compete across all draws and qualifying events this year to 49.


The LTA Pro Scholarship Programme provides world-class coaching, medical and financial support to Britain’s elite young players with the potential to reach the top 100 within five years. The Men’s & Women’s Programme provides a range of support to players aged 16-21 with potential to progress towards the Pro Scholarship Programme.

Lucy Shuker has also received a wildcard into the main draw of the women’s wheelchair main draw, where she will join Jordanne Whiley who is a Direct Acceptance. Alfie Hewett and Gordon Reid are Direct Acceptances into the men’s wheelchair main draw, Andy Lapthorne is a Direct Acceptance into the quads main draw. All wheelchair players are supported by the LTA Wheelchair World Class Programme (WCP).

Full list of wildcards below:

Women’s Main Draw

Harriet Dart (PSP)

Katie Boulter (PSP)

Jodie Burrage (PSP)

Fran Jones (PSP)

Samantha Murray Sharan

Emma Raducanu (PSP)

Men’s Main Draw

Andy Murray

Liam Broady

Jay Clarke (PSP)

Jack Draper (PSP)

Women’s Wheelchair Main Draw 

Lucy Shuker (WCP) (Hampshire)

Women’s Main Draw Qualifying 

Naiktha Bains (MWP) (Yorkshire)

Katie Swan (PSP) (Bristol)

Matilda Mutavdzic (PSP) (Oxfordshire)

Eva Shaw (Loughborough National Tennis Academy) (Nottinghamshire)

Men’s Main Draw Qualifying 

Aidan McHugh (PSP) (Glasgow)

Anton Matusevic (PSP) (Kent)

Jack Pinnington-Jones (PSP) (London)

Cookies on LTA site

We use cookies on our site to ACE your experience, improve the quality of our site and show you content we think you’ll be interested in. Let us know if you agree to cookies or if you’d prefer to manage your own settings.