Skip to content

2015 Team Tennis School Championships

Team Tennis Schools National Championships Finals 2015: Tournament Review


After four days of intense high-quality action in Hertfordshire, Reed’s School and Queenswood School lifted the Team Tennis Schools National Championships 2015 titles.

The top 16 boys’ and top 16 girls’ school tennis teams from across Great Britain met to compete in a compass draw whereby teams were placed from 1-16.

Girls' scores and draws

Tournament hosts Queenswood School overcame defending champions Talbot Heath School in an enthralling final to earn the National Championships title.


Lazic, Olivia Peet, Emily Small, Georgie Walker and Katarina Weymouth had earlier powered past Peter Symonds College, Holmfirth High School and Millfield School without dropping a single rubber to reach the final.

In the final showdown, Talbot Heath No.1 Lauryn John-Baptiste gave them an early lead before Queenswood hit back to take the wins at No.2, 3 and 4.

Talbot Heath were not going to relinquish their title without a fight and pushed both Queenswood pairs to the wire in the doubles but ultimately lost out in both and succumbed to a 10-2 defeat.

View the rubber results from the match

Boys' scores and draws

The boys’ competition provided high quality matches throughout the week with Culford School and Merchiston Castle School causing early upsets in the quarter-finals stage.


In a repeat of the 2014 final, Merchiston Castle clashed with top seeds Reed’s in the last four and found the Surrey school too hot to handle, suffering an 8-0 defeat.

Millfield School awaited the Reed’s team of Ben Draper, Jack Molloy, Louis Newman, Damian Rodriguez and Barnaby Smith in the final after they defeated Culford, again without dropping a rubber.

Reed’s took a crucial opening rubber when Molloy defeated Nick Brookes 7-6, 7-6 in a high quality match lasting 2h 30m but Millfield bounced back with a strong performance from Jack Burkill at No.3 singles to level the tie.

Newman and Smith impressively put Reed’s back in the lead before Smith teamed up with Molley to seal their 9th consecutive Boys National Championships title with a tense doubles win which was decided in a super tie-break.

View the rubber results from the match

The 2015 National Championships saw over 300 school teams compete in knockout rounds which started in March 2015. The competition is made up of schools from the state and independent sector. Online Entry for the 2016 competition will open in early December 2015 at www.LTA.org.uk/team-tennis-schools

Cookies on LTA site

We use cookies on our site to ACE your experience, improve the quality of our site and show you content we think you’ll be interested in. Let us know if you agree to cookies or if you’d prefer to manage your own settings.