Follow live scores, results, draws and order of play from Wimbledon 2024
Skip to content

Andy Murray celebrating a point in a tennis match
LTA Awards

Murray, Hewett, Whiley & Konta Among Shortlist for ‘Player of the Year’ at LTA Tennis Awards


Andy Murray, Alfie Hewett, Jordanne Whiley and Johanna Konta are among the eight performance players who have been shortlisted by the LTA for the Men’s and Women’s ‘Player of the Year’ awards at this year’s LTA Tennis Awards.

Murray and Hewett join Dan Evans and Andy Lapthorne in the ‘Men’s Player of the Year’ shortlist, whilst Konta and Whiley are joined by Heather Watson and Harriet Dart in the ‘Women’s Player of the Year’ category for 2020.


Shortlisted for their achievements in 2019, the winners of both categories will be announced during the LTA’s first ever virtual national awards ceremony on Thursday 30th July at 7pm. A total of 18 national award winners will be announced on the evening, with the Men’s and Women’s ‘Player of the Year’ victors joining 5 other performance award winners and 11 grassroots award winners, including the recipients of the ‘Volunteer of the Year’ and ‘Official of the Year’ accolades.

Launched in 2015, the LTA Tennis Awards celebrate the thousands of individuals involved in tennis – from the 25,000 volunteers, to the 4,400 coaches and 940 officials. They also highlight the incredible achievements of 20,000 schools, 2,700 clubs and over 9,700 LTA approved tournaments in helping to grow the sport.

Now in their fifth year, this year’s virtual awards ceremony will be hosted by Davis Cup captain Leon Smith OBE, with a host of celebrities, players and tennis stars lined up to present the below 18 national awards:

LTA Tennis Awards 2020 - Categories

Club of the Year
Coach of the Year
Community & Parks Award
Competition of the Year
Disability Award
Education Award
Lifetime Achievement Award
Official of the Year
Volunteer of the Year
University of the Year Award
Young Person of the Year
Men’s Player of the Year
Women’s Player of the Year
Boys’ Player of the Year
Girls’ Player of the Year
Senior Men’s Player of the Year
Senior Women’s Player of Year
Performance Coach of the Year

The full list of regional winners who have progressed as national finalists for this year’s awards can be found here. The full list of winners for the 2020 LTA Tennis Awards will be published on Friday 31 July. For more information about this year’s LTA Tennis Awards virtual ceremony – including how to watch live, click here.

Want to find out more?

If you want more information, visit the LTA Awards section of our website.

Cookies on LTA site

We use cookies on our site to ACE your experience, improve the quality of our site and show you content we think you’ll be interested in. Let us know if you agree to cookies or if you’d prefer to manage your own settings.