11 - 19 June 2022

Viking Classic Birmingham

Edgbaston Priory Club, Birmingham

Local time

Birmingham Classic | History

Edgbaston Priory Club is home to many legends of tennis that have graced the Club’s courts over the years. The first Wimbledon ladies singles winner, Maud Watson was a member of the Lawn Tennis Club and she brought the Wimbledon trophy back to Birmingham with her name engraved on it in 1885.

Many exceptional players including; Billie Jean King, Maria Sharapova, Martina Navratilova and Angelique Kerber have clasped the Maud Watson trophy and been crowned the Classic Birmingham Champion.

Ann Jones, was a pivotal member of the Edgbaston Priory Club and she enjoyed a glittering tennis career, winning Wimbledon in 1969, two French Open singles titles, and reaching six other Grand Slam singles finals. Ann went on to play an active role in the Club, mentoring young players and refereeing tournaments. It was Ann, with the support of the LTA, who brought the Edgbaston Cup, now known as the Classic Birmingham, to the Club in 1982.

The Birmingham Classic is changing from a WTA Premier level tournament in 2019 to a WTA International level tournament in 2020; with total on site prize money in 2020 of $251,750. Find out more about the changes to our 2020 grass court season

2019 Results

Women's Singles: 

Ashleigh Barty (AUS) def. Julia Goerges (GER)

6-3, 7-5

Women's Doubles:

Su-Wei Hsieh (TPE) & Barbora Strycova (CZE) def. Anna-Lena Groenefeld (GER) and Demi Schuurs (NED)
6-4, 6-7(4), [10-8]