LTA Home Fan Zone BNP Paribas World Team Cup World Team Cup format

BNP Paribas World Team Cup

Vilamoura, Portugal 02 - 08 May 2022


World Team Cup format


2022 Dermot Bailey and Dahnon Ward - Ward World Team Cup GB debut Credit Mathias Schulz.jpg

The BNP Paribas World Team Cup is the biggest team event in the wheelchair tennis calendar – bringing together 44 teams from 22 nations to compete across four different events.

Teams – representing countries from across the globe – go head-to-head for the men’s, women’s quad and junior titles in a week-long event, which will take place in Vilamoura, Portugal for 2022.

To reach the finals, teams are either granted direct entry based on previous performances, or they have to come through the qualifying rounds.

Great Britain's women's, quad and junior teams secured their places in the Finals as a result of their performances at the 2021 event. However, having had to withdraw last year due to injuries, the men's team had to progress through qualifiers earlier this year.


Each of the men’s, women’s, quad and junior events begin with a round-robin pool format. Teams will compete with the other nations in their pool, with the top finishers progressing through to the knockout semi-finals and eventually the final.

  • Men’s draw – four pools of four nations (top teams progress)
  • Women’s draw – four pools of three nations (top teams progress)
  • Quad draw – two pools of four nations (top two teams progress)
  • Junior draw – two pools of four nations (top two teams progress)

Each tie includes three matches – two singles and one doubles.

British success in the World Team Cup

The Brits have enjoyed some incredible success at the World Team Cup over the years and come into every event as one of the teams to beat if you want to claim the title. Here’s a list of British achievements at the World Team Cup:

  • Men’s – Champions: 2015; 2019
  • Quad – Champions: 2001; 2002; 2009; 2014; 2017
  • Juniors – Champions: 2007; 2013