Check out the results and highlights from GB's Billie Jean King Cup Qualifier
Skip to content

Billie Jean King Cup by Gainbridge

Le Portel, France 12 - 13 April 2024

Buy tickets
Billie Jean King Cup trophy
GB Teams

Play-Offs move to April


The Billie Jean King Cup by BNP Paribas Play-Off ties, initially scheduled for 5-6 February 2021, will move to 16-17 April 2021 as the tennis calendar continues to be impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic.

The calendar is subject to continued assessments relating to health and safety, international travel policies and governmental approval of sporting events. The decision provides increased certainty for competing teams and has been made by the ITF Billie Jean King Cup Committee in consultation with the WTA.

The eight two-day home-and-away Play-Off ties are an integral part of the World Cup of Tennis competition – which was rebranded the Billie Jean King Cup in September 2020 – and will feature 16 national teams who will now compete in April for the chance to progress to the 2022 Qualifiers.

Katrina Adams, Billie Jean King Cup Committee Chair said, “We are looking forward to what will be a fantastic week of international team tennis, showcasing the best of the Billie Jean King Cup competition. We would like to thank all of the national associations, captains and players involved for their understanding and flexibility as we continue to respond to the challenges posed by the pandemic.”

The Play-Off ties will occur in the same week as the Billie Jean King Cup by BNP Paribas Finals 2021 in Budapest. Up to 140 of the top players from 28 nations will be in action across nine countries, providing fans with an exceptional week of international team tennis that will culminate with the crowning of the 2021 world champions.

The action begins with the first day of the Finals on Tuesday 13 April and will continue for six days in Budapest through to the final on Sunday 18 April 2021. The eight Play-Off ties will take place in eight locations around the world on Friday 16 and Saturday 17 April. All events will be subject to strict health and safety guidelines.

The eight Play-off ties are:

Poland (c) v Brazil

Great Britain (c) v Mexico

Serbia (c) v Canada

Latvia (c) v India

Japan (c) v Ukraine

Romania (c) v Italy

Argentina (c) v Kazakhstan

Netherlands (c) v China

(c) = choice of ground

The eight winning nations will progress to the Billie Jean King Cup Qualifiers in 2022. The eight losing nations will compete in their respective regional Group I event in 2022.

Back the Brits

Keep up-to-date with all the latest news by following LTA on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram, and signing up to LTA's free newsletter.

Cookies on LTA site

We use cookies on our site to ACE your experience, improve the quality of our site and show you content we think you’ll be interested in. Let us know if you agree to cookies or if you’d prefer to manage your own settings.