Team Tennis National Open Finals 2018: Everything you need to know


| News

Liam Broady in Miami

It’s been yet another smashing year for Team Tennis with a record-breaking 26,424 players taking part in the annual competition.

From Friday 31 August, The West Hants Club in Bournemouth will play host to the Team Tennis National Open Finals, with the top eight men’s and women’s teams ready to compete for the year-end Team Tennis crown.

Follow the draws and keep up-to-date with the action, or come along to watch some of Britain’s best players battle in the largest team competition in Great Britain. 

What is it?

Team Tennis aims to provide players of all ages (8U – Open) the opportunity to compete in regular league fixtures against similar standard players in a competitive team environment. This year has seen 1,169 LTA registered venues take part in the singles-based team competition and the action is all set to conclude this weekend in Dorset.

The majority of the 5,830 teams compete in local leagues within their county, while only 30 teams play in each of the National Open Women’s and Men’s Divisions.

The National Open Finals feature the top eight men’s and women’s teams who have qualified through their respective leagues between April and July. Each of the four National Division winners received direct qualification, while the other four finalists qualified through the National Open play-offs in July.

Quarter-finals will take place on Friday 31 with the semi-finals on Saturday 1 September and the finals scheduled for Sunday 2. Play starts from 9:30am on Friday and Saturday, and 10am on Sunday. Each match consists of four singles rubbers and two doubles rubbers and will be played on outdoor green clay (with indoor acrylic courts on site as backup).

Who’s playing?

A number of top British professional players have been nominated including Liam Broady, Jonathan Gray, Evan Hoyt, Oliver Golding, Jonny O’Mara, Joe Salisbury, Samantha Murray, Emily Appleton and Freya Christie.



Carisbrooke TC, Leicestershire

Cumberland LTC, Middlesex

Dukes Meadows, Middlesex

David Lloyd Raynes Park, Surrey

David Lloyd Raynes Park, Surrey

Holcombe Brook SC, Lancashire

Lady Bay T&SC, Nottinghamshire

Blackhall LTC, Scotland

The Roehampton Club, Surrey

Wilton TC, Surrey

North Oxford LTC, Oxfordshire

Loughborough LTC, Leicestershire

Northern LTC, Lancashire

Edgbaston Priory Club, Warwickshire

Sutton T&SC, Surrey

University of Bath TC, Avon

Who said what?

Team Tennis Tournament Director, Rory McCutcheon

"2018 has been my first year as Team Tennis Tournament Director and I've loved every second of it so far! I can't wait to see the action unfold this weekend in Bournemouth and if the National Open play-offs were anything to go by, we're in for some nail-biting tennis! 

"With a field of top juniors, and current and former professional players taking part, there will be some very exciting match ups - we look forward to welcoming the teams and their fans!"

What happened last year?

In 2017, the men from Sutton T&SC won the title, while Wilton Tennis Club ladies successfully defended their 2016 trophy to win the event for the third consecutive year. 

Check out how the action played out over the weekend…

Fun facts

  • The competition first started in 1993, when it was originally known as the National Club League. Around 800 teams took part in the competition at this time
  • In 2018, 26,424 players (8U - Open) played in the competition – the highest ever number for Team Tennis

Share article

  • Print