Follow live scores, results, draws and order of play from Wimbledon 2024
Skip to content

Tennis Wales

Tennis Wales Awards shortlist announced


The shortlist of nominations for the Tennis Wales Awards has been announced.

We had so many outstanding nominations, making it an incredibly difficult job for the seven-person shortlisting panel - which consisted of members from North Wales and South Wales and independent representatives - to arrive at the final shortlist.

Our shortlisted nominations are:

Volunteer of the Year:

David Baker – Merthyr Tydfil Tennis Club

Jason Rikh – Llantrisant Tennis Club

Linda Sawyer – Wrexham Tennis Club and Tennis Centre


Development Coach of the Year sponsored by Dragon Signs:

Ellie Lewis – Radyr Tennis Club and Tennis Squad

Jonathan Morgan – Caerphilly Tennis Club

Osian Williams – Clwb Tenis Iau Arfon


Performance Coach of the Year:

Craig Evans – David Lloyd Swansea

Francesca Lewis – Swansea Tennis Centre

Rob Gaunt – Windsor LTC and Tennis Squad


Club of the Year sponsored by Chiltern Sports Contractors:

Caerphilly Tennis Club

Llantrisant Tennis Club

Neath Community Tennis Courts


Club Team of the Year:

Cardiff Men’s 1st Team

Mold Men’s A Team

Wrexham Ladies


Connecting Communities Award sponsored by Floodlighting & Electrical Services:


Sense Cymru

Street Games


Junior Player of the Year:

Niall Pickerd-Barua

Viktor Frydrych

Zara Hegarty


Rising Star of the Year: 

Cameron Parry – Wrexham Tennis Centre

Rhiannon Hughes – Caerphilly Tennis Club


Team of the Year:

David Lloyd Swansea Under-14s Girl’s Team

South Wales Over-35 Men’s Team 

Swansea Tennis Centre Under-14s Boy's Team


Tennis for All Award:

Cardiff Baseliners

Cardiff Metropolitan University

HMP and YOI Parc


During the evening we will also discover more about the winners of the below categories:


Official of the Year: Ian Preston, North Wales

Player of the Year: Mimi Xu

Competition of the Year: David Lloyd Cardiff Mini Grade 3

School of the Year: Cardinal Newman School

University of the Year: Cardiff Metropolitan University

Park of the Year: Six Bells Park

Lifetime Achievement: Glyn Walters, Garw Valley Tennis Club

Presidential Award: Christopher Hill, Six Bells Park Tennis 


Well done to all the shortlisted nominees, and to everyone who was nominated. Thank you to everyone who took the time to nominate this year. Without you it would be extremely difficult to recognise the amazing achievement of our tennis community.

The awards ceremony will be on Thursday 29th February from 6.30pm at the Mercure Holland House Hotel, Cardiff, CF24 0DD. The evening will again be hosted by Simon Clarke of Speakeasy Club. On top of the ceremony attendees will enjoy an arrival drink and a three-course meal, and hear a keynote speech from Stephanie Hilborne OBE, CEO of Women in Sport.

Secure your tickets for the ceremony

Have any questions? Contact Maria Rees at Tennis Wales

View details on last year’s winners

Cookies on LTA site

We use cookies on our site to ACE your experience, improve the quality of our site and show you content we think you’ll be interested in. Let us know if you agree to cookies or if you’d prefer to manage your own settings.