British Seniors Closed Grass Court Champions crowned at Wimbledon


| Seniors Tennis

2019 British Seniors Closed Grass Court Championships

The British Seniors Closed Grass Court Championships returned to the grass courts at Aorangi Park from 18 to 25 August. The players returned to these courts for the first time since 2015 and were not dissapointed, with the grass courts and facilities in excellent condition. Despite having rain on the first two days, the weather was dry for the remainder of the week and reached high temperatures over Finals Weekend.

Draw sizes were set to allow for the Championships to be played on 14 courts and 373 players were accepted, which greatly exceeded the 292 players who entered and competed in the 2018 Championships. Fortunately, even with the rain earlier in the week, all matches were completed on the grass courts at Aorangi Park.

In one of the first titles to be decided, Casey Lyonette made a winning start to his Seniors Tennis journey, defeating Zane Cheeseman in the Men's 35 Singles Final.

Eleanor Shearman, who had reached the Final at the British Open Clay Court Championships this year, won the Women's 35 Singles Final, beating Katie Higson.

Philip Loose had defeated Thomas Wride in the Men's 40 Singles Final, in a reversal of the result of the Final at this year's British Open Indoor Championships. Thomas Wride had also added the Clay Court title to his collection, so was foiled in his attempt to hold all three national titles in one year. Philip was unable to add the Men's 35 Doubles title, when he and Darren Loose were beaten by Mark Beim and David Collins. 

Elizabeth Bennett repeated her run to the Women's 40 Singles Final from last year, this time losing to Maia Dunn in the Final.

Sebastian Jackson won the Men's 45 Singles title, defeating Paul Salter in the Final and narrowly lost the Men's 45 Doubles Final with his partner, Sean Crean. The victors, Charles Durham and Ian Udal had previously won this title in 2016.

Andrew Phillips defeated David Shann to add the Men's 50 Singles title to the same category title he won at the British Open Clay Court Championships earlier this year.

Nick Boys and David Mills retained their Men's 50 Doubles title, when they beat Scott Martin and James Wood in the Final. Similarly, Norman Church and Andrew James retained their Men's 75 Doubles title when they defeated Leon Fattal and Michael Mcgrath.

Notably, Graham Neale 'did the double' in the Men's 55 age group for the third year, winning the Doubles again with Richard Walmsley and defeating Ronnie Terras in a closely fought Singles Final.

Pauline Fisher retained her Women's 65 Singles title for the 3rd year, defeating Susan Winters and teamed up with Shirley Fox again to win the Women's 65 Doubles title and thereby completing the 'double' for the third successive year. Marjory Love foiled Shirley's attempt to also 'do the double', when she was defeated in the Women's 70 Singles Final. 

Another player 'doing the double' was Jennifer Waggott, who defeated Ann Louis in a long three set Women's 75 Singles Final, then teaming up with Frances Maclennan to defeat Marjory Love and Christine Windmill in the Women's 70 Doubles Final.

In a repeat of the 2017 Final, Paul French defeated Alec Allen to take the Men's 60 Singles title and teamed up with Jeremy Trafford to once again win the Men's 60 Doubles title. They met Jeff Fairbotham and Christopher Nicholls in the Final, Jeremy and Jeff having previously teamed up to win the 2018 title.

Alice Shimmin took on Hazel Lindfield in the Women's 60 Singles Final in a repeat of the 2018 Women's 55 Singles Final, but this time the result was reversed and Alice won the title.

Following shortly from her bronze medal winning performances in the ITF Seniors World Team Championships in Portugal, Anne Clark teamed up with Patricia Wire to defeat Sally Holmes and fellow bronze medal winner Hazel Lindfield in a very close Women's 60 Doubles Final, which went to a match tie-break.

In the Men's 65 Singles Final, Jasper Cooper was bidding to retain his title and took on Men's 60 Singles champion, Malcolm Bryant in a very close fought final, with Malcolm coming out as victor.

In the Men's 70 Singles Final, Lincolnshire's Allan Thompson played Rennie Johnston on the hottest day on record, winning a long match 7-6(5), 7-5. Allan then teamed up with Andrew Lashbrook (also of Grimsby) in the Men's 65 Doubles Final against David Stanton and Arun Vethakkan, which David and Arun won in a formidable battle.

Henk Nijeboer retained the Men's 75 Singles title for the 4th year, coming from a set down in the Final against Mark Cox. Mark Cox didn't go away without a title, as he partnered Richard Tutt to win the Men's 70 Doubles title, when they defeated Peter Bretherton and Robert Harrower.

Robert Milner added the Men's 80 Singles title to the one won at the British Open Indoor Championships in Tipton earlier this year, defeating defending Champion Tony McBride in the Final.

Jean Porter mirrored that performance, by adding the Women's 80 Singles title to the Indoor title from this year. Similarly, Anne Williams added the Women's 85 Singles title to the British Open Clay Court Championships of this year.

In a reverse of the 2018 result, Leonard Lawrence defeated Gordon Oates to win the Men's 85 Singles title.

The last match of the Championships was the Men's 85 Doubles Final and the final title went to Michael Cottee and Peter Ellison, who were victorious against Roderick Hardy and Gordon Oates.

A number of Singles and Doubles Finals were scheduled and played throughout the week with Seniors Tennis GB President Charles Trippe, Chairman Keith Bland and Vice President Valerie Willoughby kept busy with presenting duties. Charles returned to present trophies on Saturday 24 August and Keith performed presentation duties on the Final Day, Sunday 25 August..

Photos of the Presentations for each event are available on the Seniors Tennis GB Facebook page and full results are available on our Seniors’ Competitions page.

Share article

  • Print