LTA Home News European Padel Championships 2021
GB womens padel team lined up at the front kneeling on one leg with mens padel team lined up standing behind

European Padel Championships 2021: Britain’s men and women in action in Marbella


Great Britain’s male and female padel teams had mixed fortunes on their debut appearances in the European Padel Championships in Marbella, Spain.

During the men’s competition, which ran from 28 June – 4 July and included teams from 16 different countries, Britain won two out of three group games.

The British men’s team won against both Lithuania and Finland and lost to Belgium, before being beaten in their quarter-final tie again by the Belgians – after losing 3-0 in the group stage, their second encounter was much closer, with the Brits being edged out 2-1.

The British women’s team were in a tough group against Spain and Belgium, and lost both of their ties – Spain went on to win the women’s tournament.

Chosen to represent Britain were:

Men’s team 

  • Christian Murphy
  • Richard Brooks
  • Sam Jones
  • Louie Harris
  • Sandy Farquharson
  • Ryan Wyatt
  • Nikhil Mohindra
  • Alfonso Patacho

Women’s team

  • Laura Deigman
  • Tia Norton
  • Yusimi Crossley
  • Leanne Raine
  • Hansie Ruddick
  • Hannah Maddock
  • Zuzka Patacho
  • Sofia Govorusa

Find out more information about Padel and how you can get started, as well as information on local Padel venues and where you can start competing.