Nature Valley Classic logo

13 - 21 June 2020

Nature Valley Classic

Edgbaston Priory Club, Birmingham

Local time
Buy tickets

Nature Valley Classic – 13 - 21 June 2020

Nature Valley Classic | History

Edgbaston Priory Club is home to many legends of tennis that have graced the Club’s courts over the years. The first Wimbledon ladies singles winner, Maud Watson was a member of the Lawn Tennis Club and she brought the Wimbledon trophy back to Birmingham with her name engraved on it in 1885.

Many exceptional players including; Billie Jean King, Maria Sharapova, Martina Navratilova and Angelique Kerber have clasped the Maud Watson trophy and been crowned the Classic Birmingham Champion.

Ann Jones, was a pivotal member of the Edgbaston Priory Club and she enjoyed a glittering tennis career, winning Wimbledon in 1969, two French Open singles titles, and reaching six other Grand Slam singles finals. Ann went on to play an active role in the Club, mentoring young players and refereeing tournaments. It was Ann, with the support of the LTA, who brought the Edgbaston Cup, now known as the Classic Birmingham, to the Club in 1982.

The Classic Birmingham tournament is regarded as one of the most premier level ladies’ tournaments and continues to attract many top players from around the world.

2019 Nature Valley Classic Birmingham Results

Women's Singles: 

Ashleigh Barty (AUS) def. Julia Goerges (GER)

6-3, 7-5

Women's Doubles:

Su-Wei Hsieh (TPE) & Barbora Strycova (CZE) def. Anna-Lena Groenefeld (GER) and Demi Schuurs (NED)
6-4, 6-7(4), [10-8]