Germany’s Tatjana Maria crowned Aegon Southsea Trophy champion | LTA

Tatjana Maria crowned Aegon Southsea Trophy champion


| News

Tatjana Maria, winner of the Aegon Southsea Trophy

Germany’s Tatjana Maria has been crowned the inaugural Aegon Southsea Trophy champion after a convincing 6-2, 6-2 victory over Romania’s Irina-Camelia Begu.

Almost 600 spectators enjoyed today’s finals in glorious sunshine at Canoe Lake Leisure in Southsea including newly elected MP for Portsmouth South, Stephen Morgan.

Maria was in superb form throughout the tournament, not dropping a single set on her way to the final and the German dominated from the outset pushing up the court and winning points on the volley.

The 2017 Champion said: “It feels amazing to have won, it’s been a great week from the first day I felt pretty good here and the courts were amazing, the crowd was nice and at the end we had good weather so it was perfect.”

Despite not dropping a set on her way to the final the 29-year-old said she was still stretched in every match: “Every match was tough, sometimes it looked an easy result but it really wasn’t. I think it’s always nice when you win a tournament before Wimbledon, it gives you confidence especially when I played my two matches on grass today and the first round also on the grass.  I need to try and keep this confidence and take it to the Championships.”

MP for Portsmouth South, Stephen Morgan, added: “The Aegon Southsea Trophy really is Portsmouth at its best. Local schools, local people and world class tennis players all coming together for a fantastic tournament. The team at Canoe Lake have worked so hard on this facility which benefits both the local community, who are able to play tennis here and the athletes in their preparations for Wimbledon.”

Due to wet weather earlier in the week the semi-finals were played earlier in the day with Maria beating Russian Evgeniya Rodina 6-2, 6-3 on her way to the final and Begu overcoming Ekaterina Alexandrova 6-1, 3-6, 6-1 in the pair’s first ever meeting.

The doubles final went right to the wire with the packed out crowd enjoying a match deciding tie-break. The No.1 seeds Shuko Aoyama and Zhaoxuan Yang came out on top 10-8 in the decider, taking the inaugural title with a 6-7(7), 6-3, 10-8 victory.

Share article

  • Print

Temporarily Unavailable

This feature is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later.