National Open Tier | Tennis in Britain

National Open Tier

Over 6,000 teams compete in Aegon Team Tennis, the largest team competition in Great Britain.

The National Open Tier of Aegon Team Tennis features the top 32 Men’s and Women’s teams in Great Britain where many current, former and future professional players represent their club teams. Since 1993 the competition has featured many of the top players in Great Britain with a number of overseas players also taking part throughout it's history. Further details about the competition's history can be seen below

2017 Season

National/Regional Open league fixtures take place during April, May and June which lead in to the Aegon Team Tennis National Open Finals in September. In 2017, the LTA Competitions Team will award £29,500 in prize money to successful teams competing in the Aegon Team Tennis National Open Tier. The combination of prize money, travel contributions and sponsorship seed funding is expected to exceed £37,000 during the Aegon Team Tennis 2017 season. 

View the National/Regional Open Fixtures, Draws and Results 2017

This new page will be regularly updated throughout the season with match reports and news from the National Open divisions.

View the 2017 Open (adult) Promotion/Relegation Rules


Over the past 24 years, the competition has grown thanks to commitment from the Lawn Tennis Association and major support from sponsors such as Everest, Prince, KIA Motors and now Aegon, the lead partner of the LTA.

Through the years, the competition has grown to now include over 6,100 teams and 26,000 players (2015) from 8&U through to Open (adult) age groups. 

Read more about the Aegon Team Tennis Competition History and National Open Roll of Honour

2017 Player Preview

The 2016 nomination list is once again very strong with top 100 British players Naomi Broady and Kyle Edmund both nominated. Check out some of the top players who have been nominated to play in this year's National Open Tier and have featured in the National Open Finals in recent years. 

The full list of player nominations can also be viewed here:

2017 National Open Women's Player Nominations

2017 National Open Men's Player Nominations


  Name & Ranking as of 7/3/16 Team

Fran Stephenson

WTA #740

Cumberland LTC

2013 & 2014 Champions

Lewis Burton

1.1 Rating

David Lloyd Raynes Park

2011 & 2012 Champions

Freya Christie

WTA #375

Holcombe Brook Sports Club

2011 Winners & 2015 R-Up

Neil Pauffley

ATP #553

A1 Pharmaceuticals LTC

2014 & 2015 Champions

Olivia Nicholls

2.1 Rating

Wilton Tennis Club

2015 Current Champions

James Marsalek

ATP #696

David Lloyd Raynes Park

2011 & 2012 Champions

Naomi Cavaday

WTA #769

Cumberland LTC

2013 & 2014 Champions

Jack Carpenter

1.1 Rating

Sutton Tennis & Squash Club

2013 Champions