LAWN TENNIS ASSOCIATION LIMITED ("LTA") COUNCIL

Minutes of the meeting held on Monday 17 May 2021 at 5.00 pm via Zoom Webinar

Present

David Rawlinson (President).

Councillors

Ian Alexander, Rachel Baillache, Bridie Amos, Stephen Baddeley, Jamie Baker, Sara Bennison, Lottie Birdsall Strong, Liz Bissett, Richard Blackburn, Andy Bradley, Simon Clarke, John Copsey, Martin Corrie (Past President), Venetia Cottman, Lesley Cundy, Richard Cutler, Lord Davies of Abersoch (Chairman, LTA Board), Jonathon Dawes, Jane Grey, Peter Grimsdale, James Grindell, Ian Haigs, Clare Hollingsworth, Louise Hutchinson, Nigel Jordan, James Keothavong, Robert Kerr, Ben Knapp, Steven Law, Chris Mansour, Steven Matthews, Shiv Paul, Sandi Procter, Joy Robinson, Martyn Rock, Mark Sanders, Annie Smith, Liz Sweeting, Steph Trill, Adrian Waite, Brian Walton, Viv Wilson, Christine Windmill and Steve Winyard.

Alternates for Councillors.

Jan Goodchild (representing Bedfordshire) and Richard Palmer (representing Norfolk).

In attendance

Funke Awoderu (TDC Work Stream Lead), Blane Dodds (Observer, Tennis Scotland), Jon Hughes (Regional Delivery Director), Simon Johnson (Observer, Tennis Wales), Scott Lloyd (LTA Chief Executive), Roy Staniland (Chair, Tennis Development Committee), Sheila Wall (PA to the President), Vicky Williams (People Director) and Pamela Woodman (Head of Legal).

Minutes

1. Welcome and Apologies for Absence

David Rawlinson welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Apologies for absence were received from Heather Bottomley, Francis Caldwell, Yasmin Clarke, Rick Denton, Andy Fay, Wasim Haq, Judith Loffhagen, Joanna Marks, Craig Haworth, Adrian Packer and Sir David Tanner.

Members of Council observed a moment's silence in memory of Maureen Laffey, a former Councillor representing ABTO, who died on 5 May 2021. David Rawlinson highlighted that Maureen had made an outstanding contribution to tennis and to British officiating over many years.

2. <u>Declarations of Interest</u>

Councillors were asked to declare an interest as appropriate when a relevant item was discussed.

3. Presentation of the Inclusion Strategy

Lord Davies said that the Inclusion Strategy represented a wide-ranging piece of work, incorporating input from hundreds of individuals, numerous organisations and critical friends from both within and outside tennis. He noted that the strategy built on the LTA's existing strategic vision of "tennis opened up" and added targeted interventions to ensure tennis is a sport where everyone feels welcome and able to be themselves.

Jon Hughes and Vicky Williams presented the Inclusion Strategy, including a video which will complement the strategy when launched later in the week. Their presentation covered the context for the strategy and outlined how inclusion fits in with the LTA's ambition that everyone involved in tennis understands that inclusion is central to the LTA's vision for the sport and confidently chooses to be inclusive every day. They highlighted that, in realising this ambition, tennis will be relevant, accessible, welcoming and enjoyable and this will help to achieve an outcome whereby people playing, working and volunteering in, and watching, tennis will reflect the diversity of our communities. Jon Hughes outlined the five key strategic pillars.

It was confirmed that an embargoed copy of the strategy will be provided to Councillors following the meeting. Vicky Williams said that Councillors share the responsibility in making our sport as inclusive as possible and added that workshops will be arranged as soon as possible to facilitate a better understanding of how best to support Councillors. She concluded by thanking everyone involved in compiling the strategy, particularly Rachel Baillache, Matt Grover (Interim Wheelchair Talent Partner) and Jon Hughes.

4. Proposed Amendment of the LTA Rules

The paper circulated to Council in advance of the meeting was taken as read. The proposed amendments to LTA Rules 3 and 10, as set out in the paper, were put to a vote and approved by Council, and will now be put to the AGM for approval. The changes relate to the composition of the Board and the number of Independent Board Members who may be appointed.

5. Proposed Appointment of New Independent Non-Executive Directors

Lord Davies confirmed that Clare Hollingsworth would be stepping down from her role as an Independent Non-Executive Director ("INED") at the end of July 2021 and her immense contribution will be recognised at that time. He noted that the Board had, subject to the changes to the LTA Rules being approved, agreed to appoint two new INEDs from 1 August 2021. Lord Davies stated that they had been selected from a very strong field of candidates and that their biographies had been provided with the papers for this meeting. He noted that the two appointments (of Sanjay Bhandari and Anil Jhingan) would take the overall Board size to 13 and that agreement had been secured from Sport England for a temporary exemption to the Sports Governance Code requirement (which stipulates a maximum of 12 directors) in order to make this change and this exemption will run to 31 July 2023. Lord Davies highlighted that the appointment of these two outstanding candidates onto the Board would also demonstrate commitment to inclusion.

The proposed appointments of Sanjay Bhandari and Anil Jhingan as INEDs with effect from 1 August 2021 were noted.

There being no further business, David Rawlinson thanked everyone for attending. He reminded Councillors that the next Council meeting will take place on Thursday 27 May 2021 at 11.30 am to follow the AGM and closed the meeting at 5.40 pm.