LAWN TENNIS ASSOCIATION LIMITED ("LTA") COUNCIL

Minutes of the meeting held on Wednesday 15 March 2023 at The National Tennis Centre, 100 Priory Lane, Roehampton, London, SW15 5JQ at 10.30 am

Present

Sandi Procter (President)

Voting Council Members

Ian Alexander, Ronald Allan, Bridie Amos, Steven Baddeley, Lottie Birdsall-Strong, Elizabeth Bissett, Heather Bottomley, Andy Bradley, Simon Brand, Yasmin Clarke, Simon Clarke, Roy Colabawalla, John Copsey, Venetia Cottman, Lesley Cundy, Richard Cutler, Jonathon Dawes, Rick Denton, Blane Dodds, John Doe, Jane Grey, James Grindell, Malgorzata Grzyb, Ian Haigs, Wasim Haq, Richard Johns, Simon Johnson, Simon Jones, James Keothavong, Karen Keohane, Ben Knapp, Sarah Langford, Judith Loffhagen, Chris Mansour, Joanna Marks, Paul Marks, Garry Morris, Adrian Packer, Shiv Paul, Joy Robinson, Alison Taylor, Phil Veasey, David Vinall, Adrian Waite, David Walrond, Julia Waters, Christine Windmill, Steven Winyard and Julie Wych.

Alternates for Voting Council Members

Eamonn Canavan (representing Mike Piper for Leicestershire), Anne Clarke (representing Steph Trill for Sussex), Sallyann Homer (representing Michael Thomas for Cornwall) and Tony Pensom (representing Viv Wilson for Durham and Cleveland).

In attendance

Non-Voting Council Members

Rachel Baillache, Sara Bennison, Lord Mervyn Davies (LTA Chair), Nigel Jordan, David Rawlinson (immediate Past President) and Sir David Tanner.

Others

Tom Gibbins (Head of Education and Community Tennis), Tim Lawler (chair of LTA Tennis Foundation) [for item 11], Scott Lloyd (Chief Executive), Chris Pollard (Digital & Events Director), Alex Ross (Head of Ticketing and Hospitality), Olly Scadgell (Participation Director), Alyx Wilde (minutes) and Pamela Woodman (Head of Legal).

In attendance (as observers)

Graeme Adams and Anne Keothavong.

1. Welcome, Apologies for Absence and Declarations of Interests

Sandi Procter welcomed everyone to the meeting.

Apologies for absence were received from: Sanjay Bhandari, Barry Horne, Anil Jhingan, Mike Piper, Steph Trill, Michael Thomas, Brian Walton and Vivien Wilson.

Councillors were asked to declare an interest as appropriate when a relevant item was discussed.

2. Minutes of the meeting held on 15 December 2022 and Matters Arising

The minutes of the meeting held on 15 December 2022 were agreed as a correct record.

There were no matters arising not covered on the agenda.

3. LTA President's Summary

The President's summary included in the Council papers was taken as read. The President gave a short presentation on how she planned to approach her term as president and noted that expressions of interest for presidential visits should be sent to Alyx Wilde.

4. LTA Chair's Report

The Chair's report included in the Council papers was taken as read.

5. Corporate Governance - Nomination of Voting Council Member by AELTC

The paper included in the Council pack was taken as read. Upon the recommendation of the Nomination Committee, the Voting Council Members approved the appointment of Anne Keothavong as a Voting Council Member with immediate effect for a term of appointment expiring on 31 December 2025 (unless replaced/ removed earlier).

6. New Councillor Introductions

Sandi Procter welcomed the following new Councillors, each of whom introduced themself to the meeting: Keith Gill (Kent), Malgorzata Grzyb (ABTO), Paul Marks (Essex), Garry Morris (Bedfordshire), David Walrond (Dorset) and Julie Wych (Cambridgeshire).

7. LTA Chief Executive's Update

The Chief Executive's business update included in the Council papers was taken as read. It was agreed that the latest version of the business dashboard would be circulated with the minutes.

Scott Lloyd expanded on a number of items from his business update, in particular the success of increasing participation figures and how the LTA's executive team was beginning to focus on evolving the strategic plan for the next strategic phase from 2024 to 2026.

8. Workshop 1: Power Up - Setting the Scene for Council 2023

Sandi Procter and Roy Colabawalla gave a presentation on the role and responsibilities of the Council and councillors. A workshop session on the role of the councillor took place. Councillors were presented with a draft key dates planner and key facts document and asked to feedback to the communications workstream of the Development Tennis Advisory Group ("DTAG") with any comments / input.

9. DTAG Summary

The comprehensive update on the activities of DTAG and its workstreams included in the Council papers was noted. Nigel Jordan confirmed the new approach would be to showcase two workstreams at each Council meeting and confirmed that a copy of the presentations would be available after the meeting.

Governance, Funding and Inclusion

John Doe provided an update on the work of the governance, funding and inclusion workstream, highlighting the plan to reach the 2023 and 2024 targets for compliance with the "County and Island Association Governance Framework" and the plan to produce guidance to support with annual planning.

Venue Support and Volunteer Engagement

Heather Bottomley and Jonathon Dawes provided an update on the work of the venue support and volunteer workstream with a focus on Volunteers' Week 2023 (1-7 June). Councillors and all member organisations (including but not limited to county associations) were encouraged to get involved in the activities. Councillors were asked to look out for "Top Tips and Best Practice" guidance the workstream were putting together.

The meeting was adjourned for a lunch break and then reconvened after lunch.

10. New Councillor Introductions Continued

Sandi Procter welcomed the following new Councillors, each of whom introduced themself to the meeting: Ron Allan (Staffordshire), Simon Brand (Somerset), Richard Johns (Northamptonshire), Anne Keothavong (AELTC), Phil Veasey (Middlesex) and Julia Waters (Suffolk).

11. Workshop 2: Focus on the LTA Tennis Foundation (LTA TF)

Tim Lawler, chair of LTA TF, joined the meeting and presented an update on the LTA TF's progress to date and plans for 2023. Highlights included the charities launch in summer 2022; success of visibility during Laver Cup 2022; current and future fundraising opportunities; and charity networking events.

A workshop session took place to discuss how the member organisations could help increase the visibility and awareness of LTA TF and support the fundraising strategy of the charity.

[Tim Lawler left the meeting.]

12. Participation Update

Olly Scadgell gave a presentation covering participation trends to February 2023; 2023 priority activities and strategic initiatives; LTA Youth framework and a new initiative LTA Youth Go.

13. Major Events Update

Chris Pollard and Alex Ross provided an update on LTA major events, providing a review of 2022; a brief overview of 2023 events; performance competitions calendar; and Wimbledon ticketing update. Councillors were encouraged to take up the opportunity to attend events and use these as a platform to open tennis up and engage new local audiences. Councillors were reminded that all queries regarding tickets needed to be sent to the LTA through the Customer Support Team via the Contact Us form.

14. Any Other Business

Sandi Procter read out a list of actions which had arisen during the meeting and confirmed that a summary of the actions and key takeaway points would be circulated to Voting Council Members shortly, the contents of which may be shared with respective management committees.

15. Date of Next Meeting

There being no further business, Sandi Procter thanked everyone for attending and closed the meeting at 3.20pm.

The next Council meeting will take place on Wednesday 24 May 2023. It will be preceded by the AGM.